ON - Hamilton, Stoney Creek, Brantford, Haldimand - Page 153 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #2281 of 2299 (permalink) Old 2016-12-21, 11:59 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 9
Sorry I derped on the image... but I guess you don't need it anyway.

Yes, you fairly accurately guessed where I am, now please try not to spread it! Yes, I get OTA is all location, location, location.

Not sure why CBLT and CBLFT are like that. :/

My bedroom's on the second floor, oh, and here's a spanner for you: my window faces north. Besides that, there's not much of a good way to get cable down here from up there, unless I just go all messy and run it down the stairs. (Though, I've considered putting a computer and USB tuner up there.)

Those antennas you named are pretty pricey, but if they can get anything from Buffalo, they're sure to be worth every penny. I didn't know you could have that kind indoors.

Yeah, I'm pretty screwed on Buffalo in general, huh? Especially as Cogeco doesn't carry them in HD, and hell will freeze over before subchannels are allowed. But I know the dentist office near me gets it... with a large rooftop antenna.

...Greg. (I get called George all the time.)
georgeqgreg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2282 of 2299 (permalink) Old 2016-12-21, 01:20 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vimont, Laval, Qc.
Posts: 1,093
Greg,

Don't waste your time with the RCA CANT1400, read the POST HERE.

Even installed in a basement you'd be surprised.

As for WNED, if you believe in miracles
.
BOUVAL is offline  
post #2283 of 2299 (permalink) Old 2016-12-21, 02:08 PM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 675
Greg (I fixed that in my post)
Quote:
please try not to spread it!
I also fixed that.
Quote:
Not sure why CBLT and CBLFT are like that.
They are like that because the tvfool site doesn't have enough people to do data updates.
Quote:
Those antennas you named are pretty pricey, but if they can get anything from Buffalo, they're sure to be worth every penny. I didn't know you could have that kind indoors.
Those two antennas I mentioned are for CBLT, CBLFT, CICA, CIII if the RCA doesn't work. There are less expensive clones (copies) but they have sharp elements that might hurt you. Sometimes the best indoor antenna is an outdoor antenna. I recently did a setup with an indoor antenna using a GE34792 Attic Antenna (assembly required) that was on sale. Most of the channels were UHF, but there was one VHF-High channel, 13.

For Buffalo you would need a high gain UHF antenna outside, or at least looking out a window that faces Buffalo.
Quote:
Besides that, there's not much of a good way to get cable down here from up there, unless I just go all messy and run it down the stairs.
That would be OK for a test to see if it would work.
Quote:
...Greg. (I get called George all the time.)
That's understandable since it is the first part of your username.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883

Last edited by rabbit73; 2016-12-21 at 02:41 PM.
rabbit73 is offline  
 
post #2284 of 2299 (permalink) Old 2016-12-21, 02:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 9
Thank you kindly, rabbit73. "Northeast Hamilton" is about as precise as I'm willing to say on the public internet in 2016. It's not the same as it once was...

Ahem. I'm expecting even the cheapeast garbage around to do pretty well with the Toronto stations. Even with just a loose cable connected down here, I can get a slightly-unstable CBC. I don't expect CBLFT or TVO to pose a challenge, and Global probably isn't a stretch either. Not having WNED isn't a total deal breaker, but it would sure be nice to have if possible within reason. (Darn mountain!) But, BOUVAL seems sure I'll be disappointed.

You've both mentioned using outdoor antennas indoors, well, if it's safe and they can be freestanding, and might get WNED, I'm willing to give it a shot! As long as I buy from a good store I can always return anything that doesn't work out, right?

I believe the only VHF station I stand to get is CTV, right? Yeah, I don't care about that channel in the least, so I can probably ignore VHF entirely.

On the subject of cabling, there used to be cable upstairs. The cable was removed to wire the basement, (and as such the CATV wiring is... messy) but the holes for that seem to remain. It's in the back of a closet buried under a lot of heavy junk, but might be possible.

Windows... ah, I'm pretty screwed again, aren't I? On top floor, only south window is in my mom's bedroom. No way she'll ever let me put an antenna there. One floor down, and there's the back door and kitchen window. I don't think she'd let me put one there either. That only leaves one last possibility, there's a south-facing window in the laundry room. In the basement. Maybe that'd be better than top floor north? Doubt it!

Well, I was slightly joking on running the cable downstairs. I don't think I have something long enough for that (ooh, more buying!) and I'm not sure how much the signal loss would be vs. just having it downstairs. If I have success with Toronto and a cheap antenna (in basement!) I'll probably try to get a USB tuner, then I could experiment on my laptop upstairs.
georgeqgreg is offline  
post #2285 of 2299 (permalink) Old 2017-01-23, 05:38 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 33
my channels i get

living at upper gage and Mohawk in Hamilton using a 8 bay channel master attenna and a channel master 7778 preamp and a channel mast distributator amp to use on 2 different tvs I get the following channels. 2.2-2.2-2.3 4.1 5.1 6.1-6.2 7.1-7.2-7.3 9.1 11.1 13.1 17.1-17.2 19.1 23.1-23.2 25.1 26.1-26.2 29.1-29.2-29.3 28.1 35.1 36.1 40.1 41.1-41.2 42.1 47.1 49.1-49.2-49.3-49.4 57.1 67.1-67.2-67.3-67.4 that's 41 channels with the lowest at 59% signal strength and 97 % quality.the attenas on top of a 11 story building about 30 degrees right of the chch tower.was wired from the attenna down to the cable box where it was split with a distributating amp one to the lounge and one to my apartment on the 4th floor.

Last edited by heans; 2017-01-23 at 05:56 PM.
heans is offline  
post #2286 of 2299 (permalink) Old 2017-05-18, 07:59 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ancaster (Meadowlands), ON
Posts: 100
Anyone in Ancaster Meadowlands lose CBC 5.1? Been gone a few weeks, not sure if it's my setup or CBC's end.
Re-scan on my TV's, nothing.
ancaster is offline  
post #2287 of 2299 (permalink) Old 2017-05-19, 09:36 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fort Erie, ON
Posts: 643
CBC 5.1 is coming in fine in Brantford - you may want to rescan.
Inglewood is offline  
post #2288 of 2299 (permalink) Old 2017-05-19, 10:14 AM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ancaster (Meadowlands), ON
Posts: 100
Thanks, did a rescan on a couple of TVs, wonder if the signal is now "too strong"? I can't remember if that can be an issue although I've never had a problem with 5.1 before.
ancaster is offline  
post #2289 of 2299 (permalink) Old 2017-05-19, 09:19 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brighton, ON
Posts: 303
Both 19 and 25 are strong solid signals?
With your remote go directly to channel 20.1.
Brightonian is offline  
post #2290 of 2299 (permalink) Old 2017-05-19, 10:25 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ancaster (Meadowlands), ON
Posts: 100
So I completely disconnected a TV from my setup and only hooked it up to a single CM4221HD I had sitting around, raised it up in the air, the scan only gave me 6.1, 6.2, 11.1, 36.1. This method reliably picked up 5.1 in the past, don't know what's going on.
ancaster is offline  
post #2291 of 2299 (permalink) Old 2017-07-09, 02:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hamilton Mtn.
Posts: 10
DB4e and VHF Kit for Ham Mtn

With a DB4e and VHF dipole attachment well above the roof peak, aimed east (to BUF) on Hamilton mountain, all the TO stations come in no problem, but CFTO (RF 9) can flake out occasionally. CKCO (RF 13) comes in too, but flakes much more than CFTO. Nonetheless, the VHF kit gets these VHF stations, where the DB4e alone rarely/never got these. The usual high-powered BUFs are all 24/7, exceptions being a no show WBBZ (RF 7), WUTV (RF 14) mostly an evening show, and WNYO comes in most of the time, solid in the evening.
go4it is offline  
post #2292 of 2299 (permalink) Old 2017-08-16, 07:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hamilton Mtn.
Posts: 10
New Setup

Took down the 91XG and YA1713, and the preamp, and put up a dB8e and Antennacraft Y5713 and an inside drop amp.

So far results are excellent with the aim towards BUF. The one problem channel, WUTV is now rock solid. Not the strength of the other main BUFs, but it's locked 24/7.

No issues with WNYO, and ION is making more of an appearance, as is the CTV2 repeater out of Niagara.

WBBZ is not solid, but comes in more regularly than before, especially at night.

CFTO 9 can flake at times, but usually solid. The CFTO signal can delay/stutter at times. I wonder if the dB8e is getting some VHF and interfering with the signal coming off the Y5713... Anyways, slightly turning north and 9 is solid.

Overall very pleased. Not using preamp seems to be best. Will see how results do in the long run.
go4it is offline  
post #2293 of 2299 (permalink) Old 2017-08-17, 09:35 AM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Primary: Bradford ON, 6th Line and West Park Ave Secondary: S Legion Dr Buffalo NY
Posts: 193
go4it




Regarding your CFTO reception, the db8e cannot interfere with your vhf signal because the UHF/VHF combiner only allows UHF signals to pass through the UHF input. VHF signals are more vulnerable to electrical interference: electric motors, CF light bulbs etc. That could be your culprit. Of course aiming more toward the CN tower would help but that would make WBBZ disappear.

I am curious as to why you took down the YA1713, its 10 elements outperform y5 713 in the vhf band.

Last edited by chinadog; 2017-08-17 at 10:06 AM. Reason: typo
chinadog is offline  
post #2294 of 2299 (permalink) Old 2017-08-17, 04:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hamilton Mtn.
Posts: 10
The electrical interference idea make sense. WBBZ is always pixelating/wild signal fluctuations, and there is an apartment building nearby with lots of cell transmitters. CFTO would show good signal strength but would pixelate too. I might try the Channel Master LTE filter.

I took down the YA1713 because it couldn't get WBBZ reliably and it has a narrower beam than smaller VHFs, like the smaller Antennacraft. But then again, maybe putting in the filter might have solved the problem rather than switching antennas. WBBZ is 2.7 NM dB at my location.
go4it is offline  
post #2295 of 2299 (permalink) Old 2017-08-22, 05:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hamilton Mtn.
Posts: 10
Added in the LTE filter and wow! 9 is now rock solid and all signals seem less jumpy. Well worth it and highly recommended for urban areas or close to cell towers.
go4it is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome