What's this? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 2017-07-28, 03:51 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 781
What's this?

Anyone else see this test screen on 15.4. On last night and today.


FTA, Openbox S9, 33” dish, Avenger PLL LNBF. Stab 90HH.
OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 4 way split, HW-150 PVR
Jorgek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 2017-07-28, 04:45 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 189
I got a 15.2 but black screen (whitby)
pinto is offline  
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 2017-07-28, 10:25 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 51
it looks like you were picking up a station that was testing the new atsc3 signal to me
heans is online now  
 
post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 2017-07-29, 11:03 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 781
Interesting because my Samsung TV as well as the HW150 PVR show it okay. MY Dynex shows a black screen.

Its still on this morning.

FTA, Openbox S9, 33” dish, Avenger PLL LNBF. Stab 90HH.
OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 4 way split, HW-150 PVR
Jorgek is offline  
post #5 of 27 (permalink) Old 2017-07-29, 12:28 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St Catharines
Posts: 1,225
The Nextologies Transmission, Distribution and Content Delivery Network (CDN), for IPTV and linear television broadcasts, gets your channel or content around the world in the shortest amount of time, at the most competitive rates, while assuring the best quality of service. Using our custom solution for automated playout, we have the ability to provide a full 24/7, 365 channel playout from a file based solution.


Was 11-1 still on the air with 15-4?
dsspredator is offline  
post #6 of 27 (permalink) Old 2017-07-29, 12:43 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St Catharines
Posts: 1,225
Ok, I see it now on my Samsung. Not on LG, Sharp or Panasonic.

On RF 15 they are broadcasting 11-1 in 1080i and 15-4 in 1080p!!!!
dsspredator is offline  
post #7 of 27 (permalink) Old 2017-07-29, 01:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 781
So why does some equipment receive the image and others don't?

11.1 is still CHCH here and 15.4 is Nextologies. I don't see 1080p. The banner scrolling across the bottom of the screen indicates H.264 at 1080i.

FTA, Openbox S9, 33” dish, Avenger PLL LNBF. Stab 90HH.
OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 4 way split, HW-150 PVR
Jorgek is offline  
post #8 of 27 (permalink) Old 2017-07-29, 02:13 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St Catharines
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorgek View Post
I don't see 1080p.
My Samsung is showing 1080p 16:9 on 15-4.

CHCH is 1080i 16:9.
dsspredator is offline  
post #9 of 27 (permalink) Old 2017-07-29, 03:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 781
I'm glad you caught the 1080P. My Samsung is also showing 1080P. My other 2 Dynex TVs only do 1080i, the reason for the blank screens.

What confused me is the scrolling banner which indicates 1080i H264.

This is the first 1080P OTA for me!

FTA, Openbox S9, 33” dish, Avenger PLL LNBF. Stab 90HH.
OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 4 way split, HW-150 PVR
Jorgek is offline  
post #10 of 27 (permalink) Old 2017-07-29, 03:11 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by heans View Post
it looks like you were picking up a station that was testing the new atsc3 signal to me
I doubt it.

But it could be that some TVs are not capable of playing h264, while others are.
If it really is an H264 stream.
Most likely is because it's not in the PSIP virtual channel table, some TVs won't detect it.
If it was in the virtual channel table you would not be seeing it as 15-4.
Guessing they are playing with a new encoder?
Would really need to see a recording of the transport stream to be able to tell you exactly what you are seeing.

DB4E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split LG lcd.
majortom is offline  
post #11 of 27 (permalink) Old 2017-08-01, 01:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 10
I'm sure this is not ATSC 3.0, as my 2 year old Vizio M70-C3 is showing it.
Belgianbrain is offline  
post #12 of 27 (permalink) Old 2017-08-01, 02:15 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St Catharines
Posts: 1,225
I think they are testing h.264 instead of mpeg2.

Not all TVs can decode it.

Only 1 of my 5 HDTVs can decode it and that is a 7 year old Samsung.

My 1 year old LG shows a blank screen and 15.2 not 15.4.

But seeing a 1080p ATSC signal sure is a first for me.
dsspredator is offline  
post #13 of 27 (permalink) Old 2017-08-01, 02:28 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,980
Some ATSC tuners can't tune a 1080p signal.

DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct DB8e & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection. TiVo Roamio DVR
Jase88 is offline  
post #14 of 27 (permalink) Old 2017-08-01, 06:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 781
Perhaps also some ATSC tuners don't do H.264?

FTA, Openbox S9, 33” dish, Avenger PLL LNBF. Stab 90HH.
OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 4 way split, HW-150 PVR
Jorgek is offline  
post #15 of 27 (permalink) Old 2017-08-01, 06:59 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,980
^^ Also true.

I receive CHCH perfectly at my location but none of my tuners, including an HD Homerun Extend, can pick up this broadcast. My Sony Bravia sees "15.4", but it's a black screen and says "signal cannot be decoded".

DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct DB8e & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection. TiVo Roamio DVR
Jase88 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome