Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

QC - Island of Montreal (Central areas) & Nuns' Island - OTA

316K views 1K replies 240 participants last post by  STL 
#1 ·
hi I live in st-leonard montreal & I'm not able to catch ch 44-1 & trouble catching ch 33-1. I have a channel master 8 bay antenna & a vhf ant. I tried an cm7777 preamp booster & the signal got worst. Does any one have any advice.
Thanks
Nuch

#2 · (Edited by Moderator)
St-Michel/Jarry

Hello,

I'm new to this forum & to OTA. I've read *almost* all the posts in this thread which is helping me a lot in deciding how to setup my OTA. First I would like to thank the many contributor to this Montreal thread. :D

I have noticed some postings that don't give much information when asking their questions, so I will try to give maybe more info without (hopefully) going overboard. lol

I have just finished setting up my own HTPC using MythTV and a Hauppauge HVR-1600 A/D card. I'm into PCs and electronics and I'd say I'm quite handy with tools/building stuff. I also installed my Bell dish setup on the roof myself & I'm into FTA (but thats for another forum ;)).
So far, I've managed to receive only CIVM-HD with my "Bunny-ears" antenna. I know, it's a VHF antenna & used indoors so I should be happy I was even able to get anything at all. ;) Analog seems to work fine.
This will be my main/only tuner.

I have a few questions regarding my locale/situation:

I've had a look at TVFOOL.
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id=b6716762912fbd I put 28' as height as the roof of my triplex is 23', so I added a few for say a 6' mast.
Seems I'm lucky enough to be east of the Mt-Royal's shadow to get the US feeds. But I don't quite understand the local results. According to them, all I can get is V (aka TQS) 42.1 but I know for a fact I can get CIVM-HD (TeleQuebec). And where are SRC & CBC? Is it just me or is their info wrong/outdated?
And what the !?!! is HDTV (ch15) about?