ON - Oakville, Burlington, Milton, Halton - OTA - Page 65 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #961 of 1256 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 05:21 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,898
CFTO seems to be very low power.

I can rarely get it anymore.

simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #962 of 1256 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 05:40 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,770
There must be something wrong with your setup--or exceptionally strong local RFI--if you can't get CFTO in Oakville. It's a strong station for me, and I'm in Kitchener.

DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct 91-XG & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection
Jase88 is online now  
post #963 of 1256 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 06:48 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,400
filper CFTO is weak.If your antenna is not directly facing the CN tower you will have trouble.Do you have a VHF antenna ?

CM 4248 at Buffalo,XG43 at Toronto,M4 at Buffalo,CH 11 yagi at Ham.
rob50312 is offline  
post #964 of 1256 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 07:08 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hamilton Mtn.
Posts: 1,575
From my location cfto is very strong, and that's using 4221HDs aimed at BUF.

91XG (47'), YA-1713 (42'), CPA-19, DB4e (37'); Denon AVR-1312
goforit is offline  
post #965 of 1256 (permalink) Old 2011-10-07, 09:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Burlington, ON
Posts: 5
I am getting CFTO CityTV and FOX clearly as well as Cool TV in total all 27 channels are coming very nice without any issues.
micpoets is offline  
post #966 of 1256 (permalink) Old 2011-10-07, 04:50 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,898
I have a dual CM4221HD array that was professionally installed with a CM drop amp.

You can see the CN Tower and across the lake from my roof.

I am 5' higher than anything me around and the Toronto (lower) antenna is 30' off the ground.

Original scan was 40 channels including a few from Rochester.

It just doesn't make sense.

simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
post #967 of 1256 (permalink) Old 2011-10-07, 05:13 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,770
filper, have you done a complete scan with your tuner?! Not just a "add digital channels" partial scan?!?

I've discovered that some tuners will skip scanning a channel, if the tuner had previously detected an analog signal (or another signal) on that channel. This allows the scan to proceed faster, but has the obvious consequence of missing changes (such as those that occur during a digital transition).

From what I understand, your installer does professional work, and it doesn't seem likely that your location or equipment could be the issue. To eliminate the setup, you could do some testing with a cheap set of rabbit ears and a balun. Amplification wouldn't be required, and you should get results even indoors.

DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct 91-XG & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection
Jase88 is online now  
post #968 of 1256 (permalink) Old 2011-10-07, 05:37 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,898
I don't think it's anything to do with the installation, and actually I tried the powered Philips antenna I used to use before the professional install to compare results.

CFTO reception is on the light side of marginal. In fact it was the station we have always had the most trouble with.

He's how the array was fine tuned. The front of the house is on the left side, it is due South.

simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
post #969 of 1256 (permalink) Old 2011-10-07, 06:50 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,400
Filper I bet if you disconnect antenna facing buffalo ,CFTO would come in.Multipath signals and your tuner cant lock onto a clear signal.Or get a VHF antenna and use a UVJ to combine with your UHF signals from your current antennae.

CM 4248 at Buffalo,XG43 at Toronto,M4 at Buffalo,CH 11 yagi at Ham.
rob50312 is offline  
post #970 of 1256 (permalink) Old 2011-10-07, 10:57 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hamilton Mtn.
Posts: 1,575
For a ganged set-up, the antennas can interfere with each other if too close (e.g., cancel signals)...

91XG (47'), YA-1713 (42'), CPA-19, DB4e (37'); Denon AVR-1312
goforit is offline  
post #971 of 1256 (permalink) Old 2011-10-08, 12:15 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,770
I think the separation is fine. Probably just an illusion of closeness created by taking a photo from below.

DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct 91-XG & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection
Jase88 is online now  
post #972 of 1256 (permalink) Old 2011-10-08, 10:14 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,898
The CM4221HD's are at least 12" apart.

We did a full scan twice on two different TV's for digital only the day of the installation and both antennas were fine tuned for maximum reception. Both sets found 40 digital channels.

simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
post #973 of 1256 (permalink) Old 2011-10-08, 12:22 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,898
Do you think switching from a 4 way drop amp to a 2 way would help ?

There is a 3db difference between the CM3412 and the CM3414.

simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
post #974 of 1256 (permalink) Old 2011-10-15, 08:07 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,898
CFTO 'returned' on Wednesday.

simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
post #975 of 1256 (permalink) Old 2011-10-15, 10:39 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Posts: 1,980
Hi filper, I don't think changing amp would help, it only amplifies the signal it gets.

IMHO, Adding a VHF antenna would help, and you might get rf 7 from buffalo.
Tom.F.1 is offline  
Reply

Tags
antenna , merger , signal

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome