Getting Comcast Xfinity - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 2012-05-01, 10:16 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,966
Getting Comcast Xfinity

Yes, I'm now recieving the full lineup for Comcast Xfinity here in Toronto. Watching it on a 46" Samsung Tv. I've been wanting to set this up for ages. I was just down in Florida and set up a Slingbox at a relatives home. His upload speed is 5mbs, so the quality is terrific. In fact the SD channels are equal in quality to what Rogers has. Mind you, I hate the Xfinity IPG, and On-demand interface. I'll try to post some screen shots here when i have a chance.
thenewdc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 2012-05-01, 11:48 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 68
I love it! What does HD look like?
IanJames is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 2012-05-02, 08:41 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,966
I'm not using the HD Slingbox, only the SOLO for now. I think you really need about a 10Mb/s upload for decent HD. I'm seeing just under 5Mb/s on my connection, but that's perfect for SD quality.

Here is a link to a video I uploaded http://youtu.be/0dYFaVm2Psw
thenewdc is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 2012-05-02, 08:34 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 290
Looks like the on screen remote is a PIA to use.
Might be good to have as a backup but I certainly won't be rushing to cancel my satellite and hookup something similar with my family in the US as a primary distribution method.

Incidentally, despite all the complaining about Canadian networks covering up program graphics with logo bugs, it looks like American networks are no better - the TNT bug was superimposed over the credits.
tofinoguy is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 2012-05-03, 07:58 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,966
Actually the on-screen remote is no more of a PIA than a hand held remote IMHO. This setup may not be for everyone who wants U.S. programming, but technically it's not been proclaimed or proven in law as illegal to do so for private use, and you can access the programming from any Wi-fi over any computer or laptop, and in my case on my big screen tv. If you have a willing friend or relative, it won't cost you anything other than the purchase of the hardware.
thenewdc is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 2012-06-08, 12:40 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 32
Talking Hey, good for you

Great to hear your Comcast Xfinity is working out. And your Slingbox Solo too.
Attawapiskat is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 2012-06-08, 01:16 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 405
what about internet cap on both ends? any issues there with usage?
takeaim is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 2012-06-08, 01:23 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 32
Smile Comcast Xfinity TNT

Will you be watching Dallas on Xfinity. The new series premieres June 13 on TNT. I will be watching it for sure.
Attawapiskat is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 2012-06-08, 01:46 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 8,075
For those that don't have Xfinity or don't want to use up their internet cap, Dallas is also on Bravo on June 13.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...as#post1413321
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 2012-06-08, 07:00 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,966
Good question. Since I dont get Bravo in HD, I might watch it on TNT we'll see.
thenewdc is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 2012-06-08, 07:38 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 8,075
@thenewdc, did you upgrade your setup or are you still watching Xfinity in SD?
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 2012-06-08, 07:46 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,966
Didn't upgrade it to HD. It's sitting in Florida on an SD cable box, although I have access to an 8300 HD cable box if i choose to upgrade it in the future.
thenewdc is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome