Shaw Direct In Areas South of Canada (Mexico, US, etc) Read Post 1 - Page 75 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 23Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1111 of 1196 (permalink) Old 2017-01-07, 11:27 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by goalsgo View Post
1- the footprint still crosses about 400 miles into the US

2- if the law (not sure which one) requires that the signal not cover the US, why is it that US satellite providers can have their footprint cover Canada?
1. It's impossible to have the "beam" exactly at the Canadian border, so they do "the best they can" as I mentioned from an economic and technical standpoint.

2. Because it's not illegal for the US providers to do so. What is illegal is for Canadians to receive the US satellite signals (in Canada).

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1112 of 1196 (permalink) Old 2017-01-08, 12:35 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 795
Is it therefore illegal for either a Canadian Sat provider to beam into the U.S., and/or for American residents to receive Canadian satellite signals?
tvmaster is offline  
post #1113 of 1196 (permalink) Old 2017-01-08, 12:45 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 795
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57 View Post
Like Bell Sat, Shaw Direct do not have the "rights" to send their signal into the US. The law requires them to stop sending the signal south, within technological and economic means. They are being allowed to phase in this approach because it would have been economically prohibitive to do it in a very short period of time, so it's going in stages.
sorry, which 'law' is this?
tvmaster is offline  
 
post #1114 of 1196 (permalink) Old 2017-01-08, 10:31 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster View Post
sorry, which 'law' is this?
The Canadian government grants Shaw Direct and Bell Sat rights to sell subscriptions to Canadian Customers (in Canada). Neither Shaw Direct nor Bell Sat may knowingly allow subscriptions to subs in the US, be they Canadian or American. Bell and Shaw Direct use different technologies to meet these requirements.

As newer technology became available to "make sure" that "snowbirds" could no longer subscribe, it has been used, but obviously not fully implemented since some older sats cannot yet preclude some signals from reaching "south".

The Canadian government also made it illegal for Canadians (in Canada) to sub to US providers (like DirecTV, Dish). That was over 10 years ago.

In this way, the American providers should be selling to Americans in the US and Canadian providers should be selling to Canadians in Canada. This also satisfies the rights holders. The various governments and rights holders would like for this to be "perfect", however, there are limits to the technology and to "policing."

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #1115 of 1196 (permalink) Old 2017-01-08, 11:55 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 795
Thanks. The real shame is that there are virtually no Canadian TV networks available to Americans, that is, if they rely on their American provider. One million Canadians living near the L.A. area, and no CBC. Could you imagine what a fuss one million Americans would make if they lived in Toronto and couldn't watch Fox?
tvmaster is offline  
post #1116 of 1196 (permalink) Old 2017-02-24, 03:43 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,642
Shaw Direct is making a big deal of "consolidating" channels. Is this the start of moving to G1 off of the older sat(s) or is this nothing to be concerned about yet?
gzink is offline  
post #1117 of 1196 (permalink) Old 2017-03-05, 02:31 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1
does anyone still get signals in southern california?
hanke is offline  
post #1118 of 1196 (permalink) Old 2017-03-05, 05:37 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,642
Don't know if you mean this minute or... We were still fine in Nov-Dec .
gzink is offline  
post #1119 of 1196 (permalink) Old 2017-03-05, 10:55 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,431
The "consolidating" that is soon to begin and happen over the next few years, is turning off pretty well all MPEG2 SD QPSK channels (which are on F1R/F2), and replacing them with possibly HD versions which can only be received on newer receivers (600 series for now). Being on F1R/F2, they should be available outside Canada, so long as those satellites remain in service.

G1 is almost full up, so will not have many channels added.

Last, it is not the job of Shaw Direct or any other Canadian provider to provide Canadian networks outside of Canada. The "law" in question is based on copyright law really, in that Shaw Direct is an agent for channels which have purchased/own only Canadian rights for content, much of it owned/licensed by channels/services in the US.
classicsat is offline  
post #1120 of 1196 (permalink) Old 2017-03-06, 01:13 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,642
Regarding the last para...of course, but doesn't mean we can't enjoy it while it lasts
gzink is offline  
post #1121 of 1196 (permalink) Old 2017-03-08, 01:12 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 795
A message to anyone who can access G1 while 'on vacation' south of the border, what's your latitude number, just to build a reference across the lower provinces
For example, if you're in Portland, Or. for example (45.31 degrees north), and can get the G1 channels, what's your latitude?
tvmaster is offline  
post #1122 of 1196 (permalink) Old 2017-03-08, 03:30 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster View Post
Thanks. The real shame is that there are virtually no Canadian TV networks available to Americans, that is, if they rely on their American provider. One million Canadians living near the L.A. area, and no CBC. Could you imagine what a fuss one million Americans would make if they lived in Toronto and couldn't watch Fox?
The one million or so Canadians, living in and near LA, should start a petition, and submit it to their cable providers, stating that they would like to receive CBC. It would probably be provided if the cable companies knew there was a demand for it. I doubt that they would carry our sports or broadcast channels, but they may also provide CBC Newsworld and/or CTV Newsnet if a demand was created by their customers.
NovaMan is offline  
post #1123 of 1196 (permalink) Old 2017-03-11, 06:25 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 794
classicsat I hope youre right b'cuz we only get F1/F2!
Bayguy is offline  
post #1124 of 1196 (permalink) Old 2017-03-11, 08:06 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 795
It would be great if they only put the U.S. nets on G1 first
tvmaster is offline  
post #1125 of 1196 (permalink) Old 2017-03-11, 10:09 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,642
Why would you say that. Canadian and US networks are good
gzink is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome