Shaw Direct In Areas South of Canada (Mexico, US, etc) Read Post 1 - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 15Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 1115 (permalink) Old 2008-09-23, 03:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
I know that if it were me I wouldn't be able to provide the proper documentation needed with the property name and the *C account being in the same name. I wonder how they would handle that
buddy1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1115 (permalink) Old 2008-09-23, 03:49 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ottawa, ON; Shaw Direct HDPVR630; Samsung HLT5687; Harmon/Kardon AVR247; Harmon/Kardon HKTS11
Posts: 465
Then it's called account sharing which is not allowed. *C will not help you in that situation.
rgto is online now  
post #33 of 1115 (permalink) Old 2008-09-23, 05:46 PM
fmr
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ketchup's hell
Posts: 373
"Then it's called account sharing which is not allowed"

If your spouse owns the house, and you subscribe to SC, is this account sharing ?
fmr is offline  
 
post #34 of 1115 (permalink) Old 2008-09-23, 05:48 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ottawa, ON; Shaw Direct HDPVR630; Samsung HLT5687; Harmon/Kardon AVR247; Harmon/Kardon HKTS11
Posts: 465
Then I guess you also need to provide a marriage certificate.
rgto is online now  
post #35 of 1115 (permalink) Old 2008-09-23, 08:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
What if your not married
buddy1 is offline  
post #36 of 1115 (permalink) Old 2008-09-23, 10:51 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ottawa, heart of corruption
Posts: 380
The $49 is a service fee, not an installation fee. How far exactly can a tech drive in one day... Canada to Mexico?

... Mike
MikeDRiley is offline  
post #37 of 1115 (permalink) Old 2008-09-23, 11:29 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ottawa, ON; Shaw Direct HDPVR630; Samsung HLT5687; Harmon/Kardon AVR247; Harmon/Kardon HKTS11
Posts: 465
Quote:
What if your not married
Then you better get hitched, if you want "home away from home".

Seriously though, a couple that's not married but own multiple houses together in different names? It would appear that you are in fact account sharing. But, you can plead your case with *C, let us know how it goes.
rgto is online now  
post #38 of 1115 (permalink) Old 2009-03-01, 04:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mexico
Posts: 21
SC in Other Countries

SC is very popular in Mexico - along the Caribbean Ocean.

I know some people that have it and it works well with the SC dish (legal). For BEV, Dish & Direct a much larger dish is required.

I do not know if the HD works here - but, I hope to find out this week.

Is there a way to purchase the SC DVR530 HD receiver with going through SC?

Because, I do not think I need the other parts. I will probably use a 1.1 meter round dish.

How many SATS (#s) does SC use?

More questions later.

Finnigan
Finnigan is offline  
post #39 of 1115 (permalink) Old 2009-03-01, 04:44 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 54,739
Your post was moved to an existing thread on the topic, found simply by searching for "starchoice mexico".

Please see the following post, useful for those new to the forum - FAQs and search tips:

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #40 of 1115 (permalink) Old 2009-03-01, 07:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mexico
Posts: 21
Close to Paamul

As it turns out, I am only a 5 min from Paamul (to the south).

BEV worked fine here on an FTA box with a 1.8 meter dish. N3 ended that for now.

Anyway, I plan to visit Paamul this week and confirm the HD reception.

There are installers in this area that can do SC.

With DN here (again a 1.8 meter dish), HD is available (20-30 channels) but not the major USA Networks in HD. It is for that reason I want SC (can get West & East coast on SC).

No one mentioned places other that SC to get a DVR530 HD receiver - but, seems I can just get them from SC - since I am a Canuck.
Finnigan is offline  
post #41 of 1115 (permalink) Old 2009-03-02, 08:05 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Direct 505-530-630, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Panasonic Viera 50", HTPC-HDMI
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeDRiley View Post
The $49 is a service fee, not an installation fee. How far exactly can a tech drive in one day... Canada to Mexico?
I activated my second location in November. There was no $49 fee.
kcowan is offline  
post #42 of 1115 (permalink) Old 2009-03-10, 02:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
new to SC in mexico

Help! I am new to this. I have what may appear to be stupid questions. Please talk to me like I'm a 12 year old. I am going to get SC at home in Canada because I want to able to use it in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. I want to take and install a dish from Canada ( because I was quoted $400.00 plus installation by a local installer there). I don't need HD or french in Mexico so I assume I will only need to pick up one satellite(?). What size dish will do the trick there, I read about LMB's but don't know much about it do I need a single LMB or a double is there different ones that I would need. If there are already threads out there point me to them please.
Thanks

Last edited by 57; 2009-03-10 at 02:10 PM. Reason: Moved to existing thread easily found by searching for Starchoice Mexico.
bobabooey is offline  
post #43 of 1115 (permalink) Old 2009-03-10, 06:05 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Direct 505-530-630, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Panasonic Viera 50", HTPC-HDMI
Posts: 419
You can bring down the second dish and install it in PV. The second LNB is needed for the second satellite. You will need direct wiring to your satellite dish if you want to use the second satellite. You can get an inexpensive 60cm dish here if you only want one satellite.
kcowan is offline  
post #44 of 1115 (permalink) Old 2009-03-10, 09:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
SC in PV

Thanks, Keith. You've answered all my questions. All I will need is a 60cm dish with a single LMB.
Bob
bobabooey is offline  
post #45 of 1115 (permalink) Old 2009-03-11, 09:06 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,080
Quote:
All I will need is a 60cm dish with a single LMB.

Incorrect - you need at least a 75 cm dish. In some areas of Mexico, separate 1.2m dishes are required.
987654321 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome