Repairing DSR505 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-10-09, 07:57 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,293
Repairing DSR505

I am repairing this unit for a customer. When the unit came in, all 4 orange LED's were flashing one after the other. I replaced a bad cap in the P/S and it does the same thing. Does the DSR505 need to have a Shaw Direct satellite connected to stop the flashing LED's? Or do they normally stop flashing after being plugged in to power without the satellite hookup? Thanks.
jumpy27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-10-10, 08:34 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 331
I think the unit is trying to download the current firmware from satellite. It will keep in a non-functioning state until it completes its program to contact the mother ship. Of course that is if there is no other problem such as a hard drive failure.
RuralRouter is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-10-10, 06:04 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,293
This receiver doesn't have a hard drive, so maybe the cap fixed it.
jumpy27 is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-10-15, 11:50 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,439
The scrolling LEDs are just its boot indicator. It should complete and go to a channel/clock display or no LED, even without a satellite signal (in which case the satellite LED should light red).

My last used 505 does that okay.
Edit to add: if it does that scrolling for some time, press and hold the power button on the front for several seconds and let it do a soft reboot. It may go to a channel indicator then.

Last edited by classicsat; 2017-10-15 at 12:24 PM.
classicsat is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-10-15, 06:37 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Okanagan, B.C.
Posts: 464
I might be mistaken, but isn't it so that Shaw Direct is no longer supporting 500 series receivers? I know they aren't supporting 530s. I guess if they're already active on an account they're grandfathered, but otherwise they can't be activated any longer. Like I said, could be wrong...
TheHans is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-10-22, 01:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,439
The issue is this one booting or not (with no satellite connection I reckon), not activation.

I presume it is already active on an account.
classicsat is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-10-22, 02:44 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 6,105
But even if it does boot, are there any channels it can still receive? I thought SC was just about to complete the MPEG4 conversion.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-10-22, 07:15 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 947
There are still many of the SD channels in MPEG2 CBC,CTV, GLobal, City and East and West HD Us Feeds are still MPEG2. I believe the US Networks go MPEG4 next spring. TH 5xx Series will work as an SD receiver until the final conversion finishes in 2019.

LOSat
LONSat is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome