Installing the PVR830 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2017-09-17, 05:45 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3
Installing the PVR830

I currently have a HDDSR600 installed as part of the LTSS (free local channels) service ton several years ago. Up until recently I have been recording shows using a DVD/VHS recorder, but it was accidently dropped when we were rearranging furniture, and no longer works.

I contacted Shaw to ask if I could purchase a PVR, and not violate the terms of my LTSS agreement. I was told that, yes I could, but would have to get an installer to install a second line at my own cost.

I have contacted the local installer, and have been told it would cost at least $100 to install. This is over and above the cost of purchasing the PVR from them. I think this is a bit steep.

I am wanting to understand what it meant by installing a second line. When the house was built 9 years ago, they put in 4 sattelite lines from a box on the eave, into the house. So, to me, installing a second line would mean just connecting the satellite to one of the existing unused feeds. And then moving the existing Master Bedroom feed to the Living room, to make two line going into the Living room.

Am I understanding this correctly?
Anhlyss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2017-09-18, 08:04 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 105
So at some point in the house you have four separate lines coming in, and currently only two of those lines are connected to receivers and the other two "spare"? If so, then you have it right. You just need two wires to the 830, and one to the non-PVR receiver.

Brad.
bpsmicro is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2017-09-18, 10:14 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3
Currently only one is connected to the receiver, as my current one is not a PVR. The other one was connected to the bedroom when I was using an antenna, but don't use it anymore. I would not be using the old receiver anymore, as I am only allowed one receiver as per the LTSS agreement.
Anhlyss is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 2017-09-18, 10:20 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 105
Not 100% clear what you're describing. Do you have four cables running from the actual satellite dish into your house? If so, you just need to attach two of them to your new 830 and you're good to go.
bpsmicro is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 2017-09-18, 10:52 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anhlyss View Post
... installing a second line would mean just connecting the satellite to one of the existing unused feeds. And then moving the existing Master Bedroom feed to the Living room, to make two line going into the Living room.

Am I understanding this correctly?
Sounds easy. I don't see that there would be any problem. The installer would likely re-use the existing RG6 cable just as you describe.
RuralRouter is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 2017-09-18, 11:57 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 613
All you need is to connect a 2nd line to one of the 4 ports (3 spares) on the LNBF, then the other end of it needs to go to the 830. If there is no mad panic, just connect the 830 to the existing line feeding your old LTSS Receiver, it will work fine, albeit without being able to record one show while watching another, until you get the second line done.

Hope that makes sense.
Allan B is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 2017-09-18, 05:02 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3
Thanx, everyone. I figured it was something I could do on my own. Not worth the $100 for sure!
Anhlyss is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome