Oct 2 7:14 PM All HD Absent (Anik F2 Service Being Restored) - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 9Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 46 (permalink) Old 2016-10-02, 07:16 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 276
Thumbs down Oct 2 7:14 PM All HD Absent (Anik F2 Service Being Restored)

All of our HD channels are not there - red light on receiver. SD versions of the nets and all are OK.
Shaw telephone number is busy busy busy.

Does anyone know what is going on with Shaw Direct?


Edit by 57 - Story Link:

Oct 2 7:14 PM All HD Absent (Anik F2 Service Being Restored)
RuralRouter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 46 (permalink) Old 2016-10-02, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 276
7:22 PM ET Now WGN HD and some Cdn HD is available.
RuralRouter is offline  
post #3 of 46 (permalink) Old 2016-10-02, 07:32 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
Shaw Direct is reporting a total loss of signal with one of their satellites. Some HD and most french channels are out. They have no idea when it will be fixed yet.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
 
post #4 of 46 (permalink) Old 2016-10-02, 07:34 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 570
This from facebook:

"Dear customers,

We thank you for visiting our Facebook page. Many of you are probably looking for an answer regarding a sudden loss of signal.

It seems like we are experiencing a nationwide signal issue on all of our channels located on our second satellite. Most affected channels are the French stations and most HD versions of English.

We are receiving a huge amount of reports on this matter from everywhere across the country.

We currently do not have any information as to what is causing this issue, but rest assured that it has been escalated and is being investigated.

We will do everything we can to reestablish the service as fast as we can.

In the meantime, we suggest that you try to use the SD versions of your channels, since *most* Standard Definition channels are located on our unaffected satellite.

Please note that you can also access most of your programming online for free on Free Range TV by clicking the following link: https://freerange.shaw.ca/

We thank you for your patience and understanding. We will keep you posted on the resolution! *jj "
NovaMan is online now  
post #5 of 46 (permalink) Old 2016-10-02, 07:46 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 276
Thumbs up

Thanks guys !
RuralRouter is offline  
post #6 of 46 (permalink) Old 2016-10-02, 07:55 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 414
it happened around 5:30 ET; all channels on F2 seem to have been affected
frenchophile is offline  
post #7 of 46 (permalink) Old 2016-10-02, 08:58 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
This is the same satellite that somehow turned away from earth back in October of 2011 causing a major disruption back then. It's probably done the same thing again or the batteries have died. Shaw says that other companies that use this satellite are also reporting loss of signal.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #8 of 46 (permalink) Old 2016-10-02, 09:02 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryE View Post
This is the same satellite that somehow turned away from earth back in October of 2011 causing a major disruption back then. It's probably done the same thing or the batteries have died. Shaw says that other companies that use this satellite are also reporting loss of signal.


Lol... OMG... What a bad Sunday evening... Wow...


Envoyé de mon iPhone en utilisant Tapatalk
SpOuK3 is offline  
post #9 of 46 (permalink) Old 2016-10-02, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 276
What Are The Chances ?

You are a font of knowledge GaryE
I appreciate your information.

Satellite out of position - there is a chance
If the batteries died - oh boy ... that's it.


This is not good
RuralRouter is offline  
post #10 of 46 (permalink) Old 2016-10-02, 09:10 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
Shaw just posted on facebook that they STILL don't know what is causing this outage. This could take some time.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #11 of 46 (permalink) Old 2016-10-02, 09:17 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryE View Post
Shaw just posted on facebook that they STILL don't know what is causing this outage. This could take some time.


Nice debugging on Sunday evening ... Did they just lost a satellite? Worst Sunday ever....


Envoyé de mon iPhone en utilisant Tapatalk
SpOuK3 is offline  
post #12 of 46 (permalink) Old 2016-10-02, 09:18 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 970
I believe the batteries are charged by solar panels. Would be a very bad thing if the solar charging system has failed...
46FD04 is offline  
post #13 of 46 (permalink) Old 2016-10-02, 09:21 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
TeleSat people are probably sitting comfortably at home tonight watching their cable tv or fibe tv. They will go to work tomorrow and find out one of their satellites has lost signal.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #14 of 46 (permalink) Old 2016-10-02, 09:21 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 414
If it's a loss of signal for all customers, Shaw probably can't do anything about it and it would be in Telesat's hands.
Gilles is offline  
post #15 of 46 (permalink) Old 2016-10-02, 09:23 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: BC Interior, Shaw Direct
Posts: 114
This is the thread from 5 years ago, last time F2 went down: No Signal - Missing Channels - 6 October, 2011 (ANIK F2 Satellite Down)

In 2011, they had loaded faulty software onto the satellite (the company that owns the satellite, not Shaw Direct), and the satellite went into a preservation mode pointing itself towards the sun in order to remain charged.

I guess it's possible that something similar has happened again?

Edit: It looks like it was about 12 hours last time to get things running again.
SpOuK3 likes this.
peternm22 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome