Switching receiver back and fourth on 60E and 75E dishes - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-08-10, 12:32 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 11
Switching receiver back and fourth on 60E and 75E dishes

I am about to sign up for Sat TV again. I have several Shaw Direct receivers and hence would like to stay with Shaw Direct. But every time I take a receiver out camping for the weekend I need to do a refresh which is a pain in the butt as many places I camp have no cell service.

I have a 60E at home and a 75E I use for camping. Both have triple XKu LNBs. Do I need to refresh because I am using a different model/style of LNB at the camp site (i.e. the 75E version of the triple XKu)? If I bought a second new or used 60E with triple XKu LNB for the camp site can I avoid the dreaded refresh?

Any help would be much appreciated!

B.
Blackhawks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-08-10, 12:57 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 868
Yes because you have a different LNB you require a different channel map. Having the same dish/LNB combination may eliminate the problem as long as the receiver isn't unplugged too long. As long as the receiver has not lost its authorization by be offline too long you will be ok.

LOSat
LONSat is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-08-12, 09:47 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,417
You need to refresh when you change the LNB type, not the dish size.
classicsat is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-08-12, 11:29 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,600
Exactly I had a 60 and 75 and never had to refresh. Even lucky that a 3-4 day trip to the destination without plugging in did not require a refresh. But the length of time disconnected is just a matter of timing/luck.
gzink is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-08-14, 02:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25
I like my TV too, but camping? How do you mount the 75" plasma to the wall of the tent?
BrokenSockets is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-08-14, 09:43 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 5,231
You mount it to the ceiling of the trailer in the bedroom.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-08-14, 11:15 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,600
They've taken the outside TV idea from RV'ing and now have a TV pocket in the tent pack. Didn't you know that. It's so your neighbours can listen to what you are watching even if they are a kilometre away.
gzink is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-10-26, 01:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackhawks View Post
I am about to sign up for Sat TV again. I have several Shaw Direct receivers and hence would like to stay with Shaw Direct. But every time I take a receiver out camping for the weekend I need to do a refresh which is a pain in the butt as many places I camp have no cell service.

I have a 60E at home and a 75E I use for camping. Both have triple XKu LNBs. Do I need to refresh because I am using a different model/style of LNB at the camp site (i.e. the 75E version of the triple XKu)? If I bought a second new or used 60E with triple XKu LNB for the camp site can I avoid the dreaded refresh?

Any help would be much appreciated!

B.
Here's an idea that might work for you: A triple LNB for the 60E will work on the 75E dish with good success. I have this set-up on my house as I wanted less rain fade so after talking with my local installer he said I could use the 60E LNB on a 75E dish but not the other way around. Since I already had the larger dish this saved me from having to buy another LNB.
So for you if you had another triple 60E LNB you could use it on your 75E dish while camping and would avoid the refresh problem.
redrooster1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome