Shaw Direct Questions/Install - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-07-13, 02:25 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 7
Shaw Direct Questions/Install

I am looking at switching from Bell to Shaw Direct. I am wondering how the picture and audio quality compare between the two. Are they pretty even, same, or is one slightly better.

Also with the install, will the mount/arm with the Bell dish work with Shaw Direct. Is it just a matter of taking one dish off the pole and putting the other one on? Also, anyone have any idea if I was to use the splitter at the back of my Bell pvr if it would work to split the signal for Shaws pvr?

Any other comparisons between the two anyone can share?
mark_42 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-07-13, 04:51 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,535
I think Shaw picture is better. The splitter will not work.
gzink is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-07-13, 06:11 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 405
As above, the DPP Seperator will not work with the Shaw 630 HD PVR, the Installer will have to run a second line for it to work correctly.
Allan B is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-07-14, 03:55 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 947
mark42

The mounting poles are the same size.

If the sky is clear and u have no trees or buildings, yes, u can just swap dishes.

Be warned, if u are going to try this yourself, aiming a Shaw dish is more difficult than Bell. It is more precise, and requires pinpoint accuracy to pick up the signal.

Good luck.
46FD04 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-07-14, 09:09 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,535
Actually Shaw Direct is much easier than it used to be. The 630 anyway reacts much faster than the other boxes used to.
gzink is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-07-15, 08:17 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 405
I agree, the 630 is a breeze compared to older models.
Allan B is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-07-17, 09:11 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jasper, Ontario
Posts: 179
With Bell, I used to be able to look at my watch and the sun and pretty much have the dish maxed out within 5 minutes.

With my 630, it's at least a half hour and I've done it many times.
JasperJoe is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2016-07-17, 10:19 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,535
I do it in about 5-10 minutes in the southern provinces.
You can have the elevation off and chase a different satellite for an hour or two. I have a few years ago.
gzink is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome