Failed time change - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 08:47 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 35
Failed time change

This morning, instead of having the time adjusted to 1 hour forward following the time change of last night, my time is 1 hour back.

So instead of showing 7:40 actual time, my receivers time are at 5:40.

I tried a hard reset on 1 of them, with no change, will wait a bit more and try a refresh later if not fixed...

Anyone else with similar issue?
Legonet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 09:23 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 80
My 630 receiver did the same thing.
mastercontrol is online now  
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 09:32 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kingston. On
Posts: 466
both mine too!

Shaw Direct DVR630 / DVR 630/ 605, Panny VT55", Sony XBR4, Oppo 980H, Yamaha 7.1 Surround, PS3! WDLive
Ouser is offline  
 
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 10:13 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oakville
Posts: 47
No time change

Both of mine did the same thing. I believe the only solution is to phone Shaw Direct and have the receiver refreshed.
Vinyl Guy is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 10:41 AM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milton
Posts: 721
When I went to bed at 3am, both receivers were showing the correct adjusted time. When I awoke this morning, they were both an hour behind. So it seems the time was correctly moved ahead one hour but then adjusted back again and is now incorrect.

edit: My bedroon 630 receiver is displaying the correct time. So it is only the living room box that is one hour slow.

Last edited by jokeDR; 2016-03-13 at 11:23 AM. Reason: update
jokeDR is offline  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 11:48 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chatham-Kent
Posts: 6
Same here. Times went back 1 hour instead of forward on all my STB's. (2 hour diff) Did a soft reset still only one hour behind.

Can't even login to Shawdirect.ca to send a refresh. No response. They must be getting hit hard on the website. I'm sure the phone-in would be a long wait as well.

Update: I called and there was general broadcast message to unplug STB to fix DST. I tried that and it didn't work. Called again and was put in Que for CSR. At the same time they sent a refresh while I was waiting on hold. The STB's then received the correct date display, so I then hung up. Didn't talk with anyone. Checked all my STB's and are now displaying correctly.

Last edited by ld_in_ON; 2016-03-13 at 12:09 PM.
ld_in_ON is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 12:08 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ottawa, ON; Shaw Direct HDPVR630; Samsung HLT5687; Harmon/Kardon AVR247; Harmon/Kardon HKTS11
Posts: 465
I did a soft reset on my 630 and the clock is fixed now.
rgto is online now  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 01:35 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 193
Oddly enough, both of my receivers (a 600 and a 630) stayed at one hour behind current time (I.E., at 9 a.m. Atlantic, they were showing 8 a.m.). They both changed around 10:45 a.m., right in the middle of two recordings, causing both to fail. Not impressed.
CrispyPotato is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 02:13 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam BC
Posts: 783
10 AM Pacific time and both of in-laws 530's are still an hour behind. No idea if they moved ahead and then back again or not. A hard reset on the first 530 did nothing. Haven't tried the other one yet.

-- Retired TELUS Employee so I Don't Speak for TELUS --
ae_collector is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 02:57 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Windermere, BC
Posts: 1,310
When I was going around about 8:00am this morning adjusting my non-automated clocks, I noticed my front room 630 was still on standard time. I unplugged it and it reset to DST, but was out by 2 minutes compared to my atomic clock. An hour or so later, it showed the correct time. I just checked the 630 in the back room and it's correct.

Sony KDL-52XBR4,SD DVR530/630,Tosh HD-A2 HD-A30, Pana DMP-BD65, Pio VSX-1015,Energy C3,CC100,ESM-4,S8.2, Engenius WAP
BCScott is offline  
post #11 of 25 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 05:20 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 333
Thumbs down Daylight Savings Time

My 630 went forward 1 hour for the accursed DST. I noticed this around 5:00 AM EDST

The sun doesn't rise or set any differently due to DST. If people want to leave work or arrive at work one hour plus or minus, complain to the boss.

It has been shown that DST is statistically associated with an increase of heart attacks. It hasn't caused one in me, but it does get me aggravated.

Daylight Saving Time May Increase Your Risk of Heart Attack
RuralRouter is offline  
post #12 of 25 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 07:49 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 816
Hi our 605 hasnt changed should I unplug it for a while??
Bayguy is offline  
post #13 of 25 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 08:22 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by RuralRouter View Post
It has been shown that DST is statistically associated with an increase of heart attacks.
From the same article:

Quote:
At the end of the summer, when clocks are turned back one hour so that people get an extra hour of sleep, the risk of heart attack fell by 21 percent.
Studies have shown that any negative impacts in the spring are balanced by positive impacts in the fall, resulting in no overall significant impact.

FYI, there was a good programme on Sleep (or lack thereof) on the Nature of Things this week. Probably some repeats available on CBC NW or other channels...

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #14 of 25 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 08:26 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 98
Did a soft reset,still on hour behind.
Maybe Shaw Direct needs to get a hold of Mr Peabody and see if they can use His Wayback Machine
Romany is offline  
post #15 of 25 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 09:13 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 816
Hi please what is a soft reset? I unplugged the 605 for a few minutes but it came back with the wrong time.
Bayguy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome