Shaw Direct Free Previews Thread - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 116 (permalink) Old 2012-12-31, 03:37 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 54,873
Shaw Direct Free Previews Thread

Please use this thread to discuss free previews. Here's an older thread:

Shaw Direct Free Previews Thread 2012

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 116 (permalink) Old 2013-01-02, 12:18 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 769
Hi we spotted Oasis in our guide the other day and then we found this page on Shaw that tells about free previews:

http://www.shawdirect.ca/english/whats_new.asp
Bayguy is offline  
post #3 of 116 (permalink) Old 2013-01-11, 04:17 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 191
How long is FX going to be free?
Leafs13 is offline  
 
post #4 of 116 (permalink) Old 2013-01-30, 04:40 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ottawa, heart of corruption
Posts: 391
FX Canada?

I noticed the other day that (classic) channel 251 has a Free Preview of FX Canada, but it konks out after about 3 three seconds to be replaced with the "lost acquisition" message, with a VOD indicator underneath.

FX Canada's website says it is "now available on Shaw Direct" but I also cannot find anything on Shawdirect.com pertaining to it. (The Americans starts tonight.......) I'm curious: anybody know?

... Mike

Last edited by 57; 2013-01-31 at 01:57 AM. Reason: Merged.
MikeDRiley is offline  
post #5 of 116 (permalink) Old 2013-01-30, 04:42 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Belleville. Ontario
Posts: 790
Noticed that on Center Ice last night too.

Winegard PR8800, YA1713, Zenith7777 Preamp, 42" Aquos 120hz, Samsung UP5000 Blu Ray/HDDVD, C/Ku Band, Directv H21, 22.
PrinceLH is offline  
post #6 of 116 (permalink) Old 2013-01-30, 05:14 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 40
I get the same thing.

John
hiljoball is offline  
post #7 of 116 (permalink) Old 2013-01-30, 06:11 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Windermere, BC
Posts: 1,308
IIRC, FX Canada on SD is only available in Mpeg4, so you must have a 6XX receiver to view it.

Confirmed...it works on my DVR630 but does not show up on my 530.

Sony KDL-52XBR4,SD DVR530/630,Tosh HD-A2 HD-A30, Pana DMP-BD65, Pio VSX-1015,Energy C3,CC100,ESM-4,S8.2, Engenius WAP
BCScott is offline  
post #8 of 116 (permalink) Old 2013-01-31, 01:49 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 769
Hi we get FX Canada on 334 HD. Did any body else have probs with it tonite during the Americans? I don't think it was our rcvr b'cuz there weren't pixels and also I checked the signal but the sound broke up sometimes.
Bayguy is offline  
post #9 of 116 (permalink) Old 2013-01-31, 07:00 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 32
Yes we had all sorts of problems during the Americans. Recorded it twice and between the two recordings got to watch the whole show. Had to have been an issue with FX.

Bob
jbobh is offline  
post #10 of 116 (permalink) Old 2013-01-31, 07:01 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ottawa, heart of corruption
Posts: 391
Shaw response:
Your question was forwarded to the Shaw Direct technical escalation department, which would be happy to help you with this.
To be able to view FX Canada - Channel 251/Classic, 334/Advanced – one has to have a receiver that is a dsr600, dsr605, or dvr630. FX Canada is a channel that uses an encoding format called MPEG-4. MPEG-4 is an advanced encoding format which allows us to offer more channels while using less bandwidth than the previous MPEG-2 signal. The standard definition NHL center ice channels are also in MPEG-4 format, while the high definition NHL center ice channels are not, so while one would need a dsr600,dsr605,or dvr630 to view the standard definition NHL center ice channels if subscribed, that is not the case with the high definition center ice channels.
But of course I do have a 600 and a 605.

... Mike
MikeDRiley is offline  
post #11 of 116 (permalink) Old 2013-02-01, 01:05 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delta BC
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeDRiley View Post
Shaw response:
one has to have a receiver that is a dsr600, dsr605, or dvr630. FX Canada is a channel that uses an encoding format called MPEG-4. But of course I do have a 600 and a 605.
Additionally, if you have one of the older STACKED LNB's, you will not be able to receive ANY of the MPEG4 channels even with the 6XX series of receivers.

SD has determined in their 'wisdom', to not support this type of LNB.
skifan is online now  
post #12 of 116 (permalink) Old 2013-02-01, 08:51 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 384
Feb 2013
Free previews

H2
Enjoy it on free preview until February 28.
Channel: 570/277 (Classic/Advanced)
Available via: Cool Stuff, Take 1/2

Travel + Escape
Enjoy it on free preview until March 31.
Channel: 572/224 (Classic/Advanced)
Available via: Your Life, Take 1/2, English Essentials

W Movies
Enjoy it on free preview until March 31.
Channel: 634/216 (Classic/Advanced)
Available via: More Movies, More Movies 2, Intense TV, Take 1/2
madhi19 is offline  
post #13 of 116 (permalink) Old 2013-02-01, 03:33 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 864
I am confused, if Travel and Escape is in the Essentials package, which virtually everyone gets. I even have it in the OVP/DVP, what's to preview, doesn't everyone get it already? The only people that I can think of who would not get it are LTSS 'subscribers' maybe Digital Indulgence but doesn't it start with the essentials anyways?

LOSat
LONSat is online now  
post #14 of 116 (permalink) Old 2013-02-02, 12:18 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Windermere, BC
Posts: 1,308
Does anyone even watch any of the standard definition channels?

Sony KDL-52XBR4,SD DVR530/630,Tosh HD-A2 HD-A30, Pana DMP-BD65, Pio VSX-1015,Energy C3,CC100,ESM-4,S8.2, Engenius WAP
BCScott is offline  
post #15 of 116 (permalink) Old 2013-02-02, 01:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam BC
Posts: 782
Have no choice as the PVR would fill up almost instantly if some non HD essential programs weren't recorded in SD. Also for anyone with a 4x3 Std Def TV it is just easier to watch in SD as it automatically fits the screen.

-- Retired TELUS Employee so I Don't Speak for TELUS --
ae_collector is offline  
Reply

Tags
preview

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome