Shaw Direct Remote Control Discussions. - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #46 of 100 (permalink) Old 2014-04-24, 11:44 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 11,035
Most remotes have plastic clips holding them together, although I've never had a Shaw Direct remote. You will probably need something stronger than an Exacto knife - a small flat screwdriver or a kitchen knife.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 100 (permalink) Old 2014-04-24, 12:23 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Direct 505-530-630, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Panasonic Viera 50", HTPC-HDMI
Posts: 422
Thanks. The Exacto is definitely not doing it.
kcowan is offline  
post #48 of 100 (permalink) Old 2014-04-24, 01:30 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Direct 505-530-630, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Panasonic Viera 50", HTPC-HDMI
Posts: 422
Thanks. The kitchen knife did it!
kcowan is offline  
 
post #49 of 100 (permalink) Old 2014-04-24, 01:55 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 11,035
kcowan, thanks for letting us know.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #50 of 100 (permalink) Old 2014-07-23, 07:46 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jasper, Ontario
Posts: 188
Remote code for Yamaha Tuner RX-V630?

None of the codes on the Shaw remote instructions work. Anybody know what the code is?
JasperJoe is offline  
post #51 of 100 (permalink) Old 2014-07-24, 01:22 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 864
If the Yamaha receiver is newer than the Shaw Direct equipment it is probable that it doesn't have the codes to operate it.
LONSat is online now  
post #52 of 100 (permalink) Old 2014-07-24, 02:47 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 54,873
Also note that a lot of the Yamaha AVRs have discrete codes for on and off, therefore most provider remotes will either turn the AVR on or off, but not both by the single power button.

If the SD remote allows for it, try to scan all the remote codes. Usually you can get the volume control to work, but on and off will not for most Yamaha AVRs

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #53 of 100 (permalink) Old 2014-07-25, 07:08 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jasper, Ontario
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by LONSat View Post
If the Yamaha receiver is newer than the Shaw Direct equipment it is probable that it doesn't have the codes to operate it.
The Yamaha RX-V630 I was given is about 10 years old - before HDMI - only composite, component and S-video ins and outs. Perfect for what I need. So it should have been on the list, but isn't. I'm going to have to scan. I tried that once and the RX turned off but it was after 100s of button presses and I messed up the save sequence so I lost the code. I haven't had the energy to try it again.
JasperJoe is offline  
post #54 of 100 (permalink) Old 2014-07-28, 10:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: St Cathaines, ON
Posts: 15
Hello.

Trying to program my remote. For our PVR.
The manual says to press and hold the TV button until it flashes at least twice.
Well, I hold it for upto 3 mins, and no flashing.

Am I missing something?


Paul
paulzy123 is offline  
post #55 of 100 (permalink) Old 2014-07-29, 10:46 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,414
Do you have the right manual for your particular remote?

The URC and IRC 600 remotes program differently, as do the ones for the 500 series receivers
classicsat is offline  
post #56 of 100 (permalink) Old 2014-07-29, 09:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: St Cathaines, ON
Posts: 15
Quite sure.



It's actually happening to both my remotes.
Wondering if it's because they are older firmwares?

I purchased both PVR's when they first came out.


Paul
paulzy123 is offline  
post #57 of 100 (permalink) Old 2014-07-30, 01:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: St Cathaines, ON
Posts: 15
Figured it out.

I was unable to find a manual, but the following allowed me to program the tv onto this remote.

1. Press and hold the mute and enter/ok buttons until all the lights cycle flash
2. Press the channel down button over and over.
3. Once the tv turns off or changes input stop and press the mute button
4 if the tv turns back on or changes inputs/channels press ok. If not keep pressing down on the channel button.


Paul
paulzy123 is offline  
post #58 of 100 (permalink) Old 2014-07-30, 07:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jasper, Ontario
Posts: 188
JasperJoe is offline  
post #59 of 100 (permalink) Old 2014-08-04, 06:42 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,414
Glad you got it working.

FWIC, you have a URC-600, and the manual for an IRC-600.
classicsat is offline  
post #60 of 100 (permalink) Old 2014-10-05, 11:35 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hepworth Ontario
Posts: 56
Remote Programming instructions FAIL

Trying to program a Shaw Direct remote IR/RF660 to a new Sony TV. Instructions tell me to:

1- Turn on the TV

2- Press and hold ENTER/OK button, then the MUTE button. Hold both down together until the mode buttons illuminate in rotation. SAT-TV-AUX-SAT. Release both buttons as soon as the mode buttons illuminate

PROBLEM: the mode buttons NEVER illuminate in rotation. Nothing happens.

What am I doing wrong.
This remote worked fine on an older LG CRT television that I just sold.
ronycoca is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome