DSR600 Owners Thread - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 134 (permalink) Old 2011-09-10, 05:10 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
TFO doesn't show up in the guide however you can punch in the channel number (799) and go directly to that channel. Will probably be the next software update when TFO will show up in the guide. And that could be awhile.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 134 (permalink) Old 2011-09-10, 10:30 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 46
I don't have that channel, but it is in my guide.
enterpriseabc is offline  
post #33 of 134 (permalink) Old 2011-09-18, 07:39 PM
MSM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 174
UHF Remote

Beware of one thing that 600 cannot do. It has no UHF remote capability. (It has no F-connector on the back for the little antenna). You cannot control the receiver from another room, or through a wall. I have a receiver in the basement that drives a couple of old TVs upstairs over coaxial cables. I had to return the 600 and keep the 505 that I was planning to trade under the Sunday Ticket exchange offer.

Last edited by MSM; 2011-09-18 at 07:41 PM. Reason: Clarification.
MSM is offline  
 
post #34 of 134 (permalink) Old 2011-09-19, 07:06 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 292
msm, you can go with the 605 receiver it's a little more but has a uhf remote.

"The quality of your question will directly effect the quality of your answer"
Installer is offline  
post #35 of 134 (permalink) Old 2011-09-20, 09:44 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Just picked one up friday morning from future shop for $79 - $15.00 future shop gift cards. So far so good, I like the size and the guide. I had the 505 but like the size of this one. Just bought a new 46" toshiba from the brick for $698 and set everything up friday afternoon.
cabby is offline  
post #36 of 134 (permalink) Old 2011-09-22, 03:59 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Heidelberg,ON
Posts: 1,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabby View Post
Just picked one up friday morning from future shop for $79.
Thx for the headsup. I just picked one up yesterday....

Now to make sure it can connect via HDMI to our 'old' 7yr old Toshiba 26HF84....

Peter

Panny 47wx52, DMR-e80*C DSR500x2, XBOX 360, Toshiba 26hf84, LG 37LC2D
Petee_C is offline  
post #37 of 134 (permalink) Old 2011-10-05, 06:00 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 384
I got mine today (Trade in) for some reason the radio channel don't show up in the guide? Anybody know how to fix that.
madhi19 is offline  
post #38 of 134 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 01:22 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
The audio services are handled differently on the 6xx series. Press the Menu button and select the music icon.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #39 of 134 (permalink) Old 2011-10-07, 03:05 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Petee_C
Thx for the headsup. I just picked one up yesterday....

Now to make sure it can connect via HDMI to our 'old' 7yr old Toshiba 26HF84....

Peter
No problem, online it stated the offer was over the day before I could make it down there. Then it was extended so I went and picked one up.
cabby is offline  
post #40 of 134 (permalink) Old 2011-10-28, 08:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by d_source View Post
When programming the universal remote to use with my 600 and my TV you have to hold the power button for 3-5secs (manual says 1.5 but thats not true) in order for both devices to turn on or off. Is there a way for it to work like the 630 where you just push the power button (not hold) and both devices turn on or off? My wife keeps forgetting to hold so my tv is always on.
TY
Was trying to figure this out as well, since they didn't include a remote with my 600. I think the only way would be if your universal can "learn" the function from the SD remote. Also if your remote has macro keys that might work.
bos17 is offline  
post #41 of 134 (permalink) Old 2011-10-30, 01:56 PM
JCM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 171
You should of got a standard remote. You probably received an oped box unit. Go back and complain.
JCM is offline  
post #42 of 134 (permalink) Old 2011-11-10, 12:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCM View Post
You should of got a standard remote. You probably received an oped box unit. Go back and complain.
No, this was a swap for my 305. The SD CSR reduced the trade in price but said the remote would not be included. Anyway, I was able to program my universal remote for the Master Power function.
bos17 is offline  
post #43 of 134 (permalink) Old 2011-11-29, 07:30 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bay of Fundy
Posts: 354
Dual Simultaneous Output

Has anyone tried outputting on HDMI -AND- the YRW cables on the 600?
I use HDMI to my tv, but I am trying to use the YRW to my slingbox.
Slingbox has sound but no video on any of the channels (SD or HD).
It worked on my 505.
rpokane is offline  
post #44 of 134 (permalink) Old 2011-11-30, 08:01 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bay of Fundy
Posts: 354
As an update, it can output on both at the same time... needed new cables. They worked fine with the 505, swapped it out for the 600, and then they didn't. Weird, but its working.
rpokane is offline  
post #45 of 134 (permalink) Old 2011-12-01, 12:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Quick hello and canvasing advise

Hi All,

Wanted to say hello. New to the forum and to Shaw direct. I recently decided to jump on the Satellite bandwagon, beliveing I got a great promotional deal (assuming) - 2 HD 600 receivers for $112 (tax inc), $50 credit and $50 worth in movies, plus Sports and HD extra lite package for free for a year.

I had been a Rogers cable guy for many years (no box, just plugged in basic cable). They're planning on installing the dish this Saturday.

Looking to see if there's any pointers you'd like to pass on so I can get maximum enjoyment out of the new setup.

Thanks

Chris
Velvetsmack is offline  
Reply

Tags
dsr600 , shaw direct
Gear in this thread - dsr600 by PriceGrabber.com

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome