DSR600 coming July 4th - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 77 (permalink) Old 2011-06-26, 08:38 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 438
fatkev - I currently use a 505 and UHF remote to feed TV's around the house. The problem with the new lineup is the 605 has a UHF remote but no RF modulator, and the 600 has an RF modulator but no UHF remote. So neither works well.

I'd love to see those new locals in 16:9 squished 480i. RFO uses that and it looks good for SD. But unless the 6xx receivers are really good/easy to use for scaling/aspect, maybe that would be too confusing for most viewers?
ralph_sinclair is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 77 (permalink) Old 2011-06-27, 10:19 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,414
Component (and digital audio) is eliminated just to save cost/space, not because "Hollywood" made them omit the connection.
classicsat is offline  
post #18 of 77 (permalink) Old 2011-06-27, 10:24 AM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
exactly classicsat.

HDMI has been on televisions for years so there is no need for component anymore so why waste the money.
hugh is offline  
 
post #19 of 77 (permalink) Old 2011-06-27, 12:37 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralph_sinclair View Post
fatkev - I currently use a 505 and UHF remote to feed TV's around the house. The problem with the new lineup is the 605 has a UHF remote but no RF modulator, and the 600 has an RF modulator but no UHF remote. So neither works well.
I do as well.
I missed the part where the 600 doesn't have a UHF remote - that sux. I guess I'll be sticking with my 505. Sounds like in the future I'll be forced to go to a 605 and have to buy a RF modulator for it (MPEG-4).
fatkev78 is offline  
post #20 of 77 (permalink) Old 2011-06-27, 12:47 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugh View Post
exactly classicsat.

HDMI has been on televisions for years so there is no need for component anymore so why waste the money.
For backup when HDMI doesn't work. Still plenty of posts with people having HDMI issues.

-Mike

Sony XBR65X930D | Denon AVR-X1300W | BELL 9400 | Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K | XBOX One S
scrooloose is offline  
post #21 of 77 (permalink) Old 2011-06-27, 01:05 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
if you need component and HDMI then you can buy the 605. The point that classicsat was making is that by removing the extra connectivity, you can shrink the box and the cost. (and that its not something mandated by Hollywood)
hugh is offline  
post #22 of 77 (permalink) Old 2011-06-29, 01:41 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tumbler Ridge B.C.
Posts: 409
To me this looks like what they refer to as a "slave receiver" but this one has HD. Good 2nd HD unit and low cost (before was $199). Going to get 1 for our 2nd T.V. I can see this being sold to people that don't need all the bells and whistles that come with the higher end units... they just don't care to record shows,if they miss them it isn't the end of the world.
sawguyg is offline  
post #23 of 77 (permalink) Old 2011-06-29, 06:21 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 292
another advantage is even when the remote is programmed for a t.v. it still won't change channels on the t.v.! this will save a lot of phone calls.

"The quality of your question will directly effect the quality of your answer"
Installer is offline  
post #24 of 77 (permalink) Old 2011-06-29, 08:13 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 1,950
I like the looks of this box. I think I'll get one and move my aging DSR-405 to the spare tv in the office.
mr weather is offline  
post #25 of 77 (permalink) Old 2011-06-29, 10:50 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 142
Fingers crossed for a secret trade in deal for 505's, maybe for 0$
Chaseme is offline  
post #26 of 77 (permalink) Old 2011-06-29, 12:55 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,389
The only info I've seen on possible trade-ins is
$29.99 with a trade in of a 209
Rumour: new receiver/ new lnb's / HSI coming soon

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline  
post #27 of 77 (permalink) Old 2011-06-29, 04:15 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NOYB
Posts: 124
That appears to be the same receiver I have from Eastlink for the Whole Home DVR. Nice unit. Very compact.
frostycold is offline  
post #28 of 77 (permalink) Old 2011-06-29, 06:11 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 292
I just received a case of them today and they are a nice looking unit, no official word yet on trade ins ect (i just tried for myself) sounds like we still need to wait.

"The quality of your question will directly effect the quality of your answer"
Installer is offline  
post #29 of 77 (permalink) Old 2011-06-29, 10:48 PM
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,803
I'm going to prolly buy two - great for bedroom projection tv!
I have a Optoma PK 301 pico projector I bought on a lark, and am very impressed with. (480x848, so really nice 32" - 42" picture), this little receiver, and an iPod dock with an aux audio in will be great.
Bent is offline  
post #30 of 77 (permalink) Old 2011-06-30, 11:19 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,414
Although it may appear to be the same as the Easlink box, it is not. Motorla saved money using an existing case design.
classicsat is offline  
Reply

Tags
dsr600
Gear in this thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome