Rain or Snow Fade - Please read post 1 first. - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #46 of 61 (permalink) Old 2015-01-26, 04:04 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jasper, Ontario
Posts: 184
suddenly blank and frozen screens on some channels??

Anybody else having this problem right now?

Most channels are fine but about 6 show this problem. Same symptom with my 630 and 605.
JasperJoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 61 (permalink) Old 2015-01-26, 04:08 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jasper, Ontario
Posts: 184
Just heard from SD:

Due to severe weather in parts of Ontario, we are experiencing channel outages all across Canada. This should clear up when the weather does.
JasperJoe is offline  
post #48 of 61 (permalink) Old 2015-01-26, 04:30 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 558
Quite a few HD channels seem to be unavailable, now. What is this severe weather that Ontario is experiencing? I thought the blizzard was moving up the eastern seaboard then up to the Atlantic provinces. I didn't think that Ontario was going to have severe weather. Those of you in Ontario, what's going on?
NovaMan is offline  
 
post #49 of 61 (permalink) Old 2015-01-26, 05:21 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 717
TSN, Sportsnet etc in black
tvmaster is online now  
post #50 of 61 (permalink) Old 2015-01-26, 05:22 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 54,742
I'm in Uptown Toronto and there's nothing happening here right now, however, there is a major storm just to the south and the satellite connection (uplink facility in Mississauga?) may be having difficulty going through that storm.

http://www.intellicast.com/National/...4&animate=true

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #51 of 61 (permalink) Old 2015-01-26, 08:36 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 558
Everything seems to be back to normal now. I noticed at supper time CTV Atlantic and CBC Atlantic (both SD and HD) were both in the black, but Global Atlantic was OK. 57, do you know how the Halifax signals are sent to Mississauga? Are they sent directly from Halifax to Mississauga? Are the Global signals uplinked directly from Halifax? I am interested in how the signals get sent around, but can't seem to find any information on the net. Do you know a link that explains this process? Thanks in advance.
NovaMan is offline  
post #52 of 61 (permalink) Old 2015-01-27, 12:22 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 54,742
I believe they use a combination of Fibre and Satellite, but I can't say which channels use which method. I don't believe microwave is used any more, but I can't be positive.

Rogers (Ontario) receives some of the US channels (and perhaps some Canadian ones) via OTA. They have a big tower down near Fort Erie IIRC.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #53 of 61 (permalink) Old 2015-01-30, 11:29 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 760
Joe for future how did you hear from SD about probs? Did you tweet them or something? It would be nice to know when they have a prob.
Bayguy is offline  
post #54 of 61 (permalink) Old 2015-01-31, 10:10 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jasper, Ontario
Posts: 184
I asked via FaceBook message. SD replied using FB message. SD has been responsive on FB each time I've tried in the past - good service.
JasperJoe is offline  
post #55 of 61 (permalink) Old 2015-02-02, 01:02 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: BC Interior, Shaw Direct
Posts: 114
The Detroit NBC & ABC HD feeds aren't coming in on any of our receivers. The standard def versions are coming in fine. Anyone else seeing this right now?
peternm22 is offline  
post #56 of 61 (permalink) Old 2015-02-02, 01:07 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Great Lake Huron
Posts: 7
Mine aren't either. I even checked for snow on my dish and restarted my receivers. Detroit has a winter storm warning now and it is just coming into Toronto. Problems must be in Detroit or Toronto.
junknspam3 is offline  
post #57 of 61 (permalink) Old 2015-02-02, 01:09 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: BC Interior, Shaw Direct
Posts: 114
Good to know it's not just me. Always worried that something might be wrong with my setup when this happens.

Looks like they just came back though.
peternm22 is offline  
post #58 of 61 (permalink) Old 2015-02-05, 09:48 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 32
All I have to do is look out the window, Mississauga up-link center is 1 km away from me.
paddy209 is offline  
post #59 of 61 (permalink) Old 2015-03-26, 09:11 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Marystown, NL
Posts: 580
Its been real good if theres lighting in Toronto or where ever their plant in Ontario is I lose Sportnet but that happens on cable and bell too.

Have had no rain or snow fade since Oct and we've had big storms my only outage to date was because of lighting and that was just the HD channels it didn't last long.
Doppelganger399 is offline  
post #60 of 61 (permalink) Old 2016-07-14, 02:33 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 650
Lost all channels

Did anyone else loss all the SD channels for about a half a hour then come back on, I was able to watch the HD channels but lost SD, then all started to come back, now all is good. Weird.

Last edited by 57; 2016-07-14 at 11:04 AM. Reason: Moved To Existing Thread
noah12 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome