Upgraded internal HDD to a 1TB HDD for the 630 - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 165 (permalink) Old 2010-10-22, 09:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Each to his own but I have a WD TV with 6.5 TB attached to it. We like to watch total series one after another during the winter and when we are just bored.

For anyone that has changed a drive - can you access the recordings on the drive that you have removed...like in your pc.
lineman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 165 (permalink) Old 2010-10-22, 11:40 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 54,808
No, the files are encrypted.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #33 of 165 (permalink) Old 2010-10-23, 04:10 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 27
Western Digital

I have tried Western Digital drives, 2-Green 1-Black, they all went into a constant reboot cycle, so appears they don't work for some reason. These are full size drives and have to be powered externally as appears 630 receiver only outputs 5volts of power and full size drives need 12 volts to spin and 5volts to read/write data. The small 2.5 inch laptop drives only need 5 volts to work as I understand.

(So Seagate Pipeline HD 1T External, and SAMSUNG HM100UI Internal, tried by QCK work for this mod)


There is a photo, and additional info in my Profile Album section.

7ninty is offline  
 
post #34 of 165 (permalink) Old 2010-10-27, 08:58 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 82
What would be a better investment?
A 1TB 5400rpm drive or a 500Gb 7200Rpm drive?
Ochato is offline  
post #35 of 165 (permalink) Old 2010-10-28, 12:18 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 109
Thanks for posting your results QCK!
I'm also considering this upgrade as our 320 GB drive is almost full.

Would the 630 receiver benefit from a larger cache and higher RPM drive?
The larger cache and higher RPM might help with the performance of 'Live Record to Disk' and it may also solve the pixelation issue.
It may also help with the program search speed and guide speeds as this info is stored on the drive.

I'm going to try a 7,200 RPM drive with a 16 or 32 MB cache.

Panasonic TC-P65V10 65" Plasma/Sony KDL-55XBR8 55" LED LCD/Sony BDP-S350/Yamaha RX-V3800/Axiom Epic 60 - 500 (7.1)
zak88lx is offline  
post #36 of 165 (permalink) Old 2010-10-28, 01:31 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 111
"I have tried Western Digital drives, 2-Green 1-Black, they all went into a constant reboot cycle, so appears they don't work for some reason. These are full size drives and have to be powered externally as appears 630 receiver only outputs 5volts of power and full size drives need 12 volts to spin and 5volts to read/write data. The small 2.5 inch laptop drives only need 5 volts to work as I understand."

I did learn with the 530's that external power on the drive does not work. I think the receiver needs to boot the drive up at a given moment for it to be recognized - or rather the drive can not have power at the moment the receiver is first turned on. Hotplugging the USB connector after boot worked (unplug USB and reconnect) on the 530.

If the 630 is doing this for the same reasons as the 530, you could complicate things and make the full-size drive work on external power by inserting a small relay in the 630 that switches on when power is applied to the hard drive connector - and then use it to switch power to your external drive.
tico is offline  
post #37 of 165 (permalink) Old 2010-10-30, 12:34 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 32
Any problems thus far???

Just curious if anyone has experienced any problems with upgrading their HDD? Specifically when it comes to missed recordings or pixelation issues.

The main reason I ask, is because I have these issues currently with both my 630's (even after factory resets and phone conversations with SD techs), and I am wondering if the problem lays with my Hard Drive. And doing the upgrade would be because I want to rid myself of these problems. Plus, I would love the extra room for recording.
I would probably get the "SAMSUNG SpinPoint MT2 HM100UI 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache 2.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Notebook Hard Drive"

Has everyone thus far, who has upgraded, had a beautiful stable 630? The way it's suppose to be?

Thanks for your time!
Sharper101 is offline  
post #38 of 165 (permalink) Old 2010-11-09, 01:44 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 32
Thanks QCK, that helps me out a little bit more. I think I might wait for the new firmware now, and see if that helps stabilize the 630 before I install a larger size HDD.

-Cheers!
Sharper101 is offline  
post #39 of 165 (permalink) Old 2010-11-09, 02:18 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Several posts removed.

The topic is "Upgraded internal HDD to a 1TB HDD for the 630"

Please stick to discussion of updating the internal HDD in a 630 or your posts will be removed and you may receive an infraction.
hugh is offline  
post #40 of 165 (permalink) Old 2010-11-09, 06:37 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 82
I tried to look but I couldnt find the seagate model that the 630 comes with.
Can someone post it here?
Ochato is offline  
post #41 of 165 (permalink) Old 2010-11-09, 08:20 PM Thread Starter
QCK
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ochato View Post
I tried to look but I couldnt find the seagate model that the 630 comes with.
Can someone post it here?
It is a Seagate model ST9320328CS, 320GB, 2.5" Hard Drive.

http://www.seagate.com/staticfiles/s...100560196d.pdf
QCK is offline  
post #42 of 165 (permalink) Old 2010-11-10, 05:57 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 203
So replacing harddrive actually improves performance of the 630? Does it resolve issues?

Do users using their own harddrives not experience problems normal users do?
TheSphinx is offline  
post #43 of 165 (permalink) Old 2010-11-10, 06:42 PM Thread Starter
QCK
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSphinx View Post
So replacing harddrive actually improves performance of the 630? Does it resolve issues?

Do users using their own harddrives not experience problems normal users do?
The only benefit is that there is more room for recording shows. It does not resolve any of the issues users are experiencing with the receiver. Just to note, it did not add any issues either.
QCK is offline  
post #44 of 165 (permalink) Old 2010-11-23, 11:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 16
Question 630 security screws?

can anyone tell me what type of driver i need to remove the screws to open my 630 please? am going to order one of those 1t hard drives for it. just got mine and so far so good,

Last edited by 57; 2010-11-23 at 11:50 PM. Reason: Post moved to existing thread.
reallyoldnewbie is offline  
post #45 of 165 (permalink) Old 2010-11-24, 07:44 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Muskoka, Ontario
Posts: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by reallyoldnewbie View Post
can anyone tell me what type of driver i need to remove the screws to open my 630 please? am going to order one of those 1t hard drives for it. just got mine and so far so good,
I think it is one one these, not sure what size though

http://newelectronx.com/proddetail.php?prod=BITMOTO
smp01 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome