hd channel problems - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-01-05, 10:22 PM Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
hd channel problems

I am new to this forum so please bare with me.

I am from Naicam sk, i have the 630 receiver. My receiver has been working fairly well until this evening we experienced some bad weather and now all of the hd channels will not work. The standard def channels keep working, and the signal strength is 85 or so for tuner 1 but about 30 for tuner 2. There is no snow or anything on the dish.

I was wondering if anyone had any tips for what i should do to help allign the dish better. Or how i can fix this problem.

I have searched the forums for awhile and i couldnt find anything like this. Sorry if its already been addressed.
mattunderscore is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-01-05, 10:28 PM
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 638
make sure dish is skew'd properly, Regina is 87, Saskatoon is 88/89. common mistake for self installer's is setting skew for 90.
Sirius Guy is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-01-06, 12:46 AM
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 69.26.34N 133.1.52W
Posts: 7
These are the settings that I got from dishpointer dot com for your location, assuming that you are using the dual lnb model

Your Location
Latitude: 52.4152░
Longitude: -104.4950░

Name: Starchoice 107W & 111W
Distance: 38623km

Elevation: 29.9░
Azimuth (true): 185.9░
Azimuth (magn.): 176.4░
Dish Skew [?]: 93.1░
Turn clockwise standing behind the dish
hoofsat is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-01-11, 01:56 PM
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oakville,ON
Posts: 1,439
First, do a reset (keep the power button pushed for 20 seconds). If this does not fix the problem, you can login to your account and force a rehit (or call SD to do it). If still the same, yes you may have a missalignment).
As a note, 630 will allways alternate the tunners when you change the channels.
adit is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome