Shaw Direct HDPVR 630 Owners Discussion thread for owners ONLY! - Page 102 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1516 of 2573 (permalink) Old 2012-04-26, 01:53 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia & Toronto
Posts: 807
If all these failures of the 630 are accurate, then the 630 is unprecedented in modern electronics for its poor quality. For products of normal quality, extended warranties are not necessary. This is why the stores push them so hard: they are generally pure profit.

Strictly a "paper" FTA enthusiast nowadays: all equipment in storage waiting for a new home.
cyberham is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1517 of 2573 (permalink) Old 2012-04-28, 10:32 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 75
You guys realize that the multiple receiver fee is purely for having more than one unit on your account right? The fee is not for extended warranty, however, Shaw provides a limited warranty on all units on the account if that account has the fee or is on an account that has the fee included.
Kartan is offline  
post #1518 of 2573 (permalink) Old 2012-04-28, 10:56 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,617
So I only have one receiver and get charged a $2.49/month fee. Why? I thought it was an extended warranty after I started developing problems with my old 530. Had to switch that thing out about 4 times before getting the 630. This fee started showing up after about the 2nd exchange.

~Gary
Rogers NextBox 2.0 w/ 500gb hd | HD VIP | former SD sub | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | watch me LIVE!
GaryE is online now  
post #1519 of 2573 (permalink) Old 2012-04-28, 12:44 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,333
I will look it up again but pretty sure part of the fee description is a 'lifetime warranty' on all receivers. Has been beneficial to me.
gzink is offline  
post #1520 of 2573 (permalink) Old 2012-04-28, 01:39 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia & Toronto
Posts: 807
Multi-receiver Fee

Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryE View Post
So I only have one receiver and get charged a $2.49/month fee...This fee started showing up after about the 2nd exchange.
The multi-receiver fee is about $5.99/month, I believe. Read Post #1513. If it is truly an incorrectly charged multi-receiver fee, you should get a refund of all those multi-receiver fees paid, plus a month of free service to apologize for the mistake. This is what they did for me.

Strictly a "paper" FTA enthusiast nowadays: all equipment in storage waiting for a new home.
cyberham is offline  
post #1521 of 2573 (permalink) Old 2012-05-10, 02:26 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 124
Any chance the extra fee on your bill is the 1.5 percent Local Program Fund? Just asking...
meandher57 is offline  
post #1522 of 2573 (permalink) Old 2012-05-10, 03:51 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,333
There is a single receiver warranty fee.
As I understand it.
gzink is offline  
post #1523 of 2573 (permalink) Old 2012-05-10, 06:11 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Okanagan, B.C.
Posts: 431
I've also heard that there is a single warranty fee. My theory would be that when you had to get replacements, they kind of back-dated the warranty and began charging you. I'm thinking it's this as I've heard of this in the past on a forum here somewhere. Specifically that you can back-date the warranty if you need a replacement, but aren't under warranty at that time. I'm presuming this would only be the case for people without multiple receivers, as in that case you have no choice but to pay the multi-receiver charge that gives you a warranty automatically.
TheHans is offline  
post #1524 of 2573 (permalink) Old 2012-05-10, 07:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Something different

Just to break this depressing thread up a bit I thought I'd drop in with my huge disappointment with PVRs in general. Why don't these sophisticated units have PiP capability?! With 2 SAT rcvrs and an HDD to source from, it seems rather sad they can't display more than a single video frame at a time.

Duh!

sgldda is offline  
post #1525 of 2573 (permalink) Old 2012-05-10, 10:17 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary/Mesa
Posts: 338
The Hans, I have the single receiver fee(2.49 per month). It's worth every cent ( I have a 630 PVR which has been replaced twice).
mellaby is offline  
post #1526 of 2573 (permalink) Old 2012-05-11, 08:27 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Quote:
Why don't these sophisticated units have PiP capability?!
The Bell 9200 does. It was discontinued about 2 years ago. The majority of current BDU PVRs appear to be designed to cut costs, not provide features. That includes the HDPVR 630.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #1527 of 2573 (permalink) Old 2012-05-11, 03:24 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Okanagan, B.C.
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by mellaby View Post
The Hans, I have the single receiver fee(2.49 per month). It's worth every cent ( I have a 630 PVR which has been replaced twice).
Mellaby, I couldn't agree more! We have multiple receivers, so we get charged anyway. But even if we didn't, after all the replacements we've had I think it would be foolish not to pay this charge. It's a shame that the 630s act up so much that you need the warranty, but it's my "deal with the devil" because I love the 630 despite its quirks.
TheHans is offline  
post #1528 of 2573 (permalink) Old 2012-05-12, 08:26 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 611
I've had 4 rcvrs for a couple almost 3yrs and have been paying the 5.99 fee and have never had to exchange any of my 200/500 and now 600 series rcvrs. So for me it's been a waste. I understand why they do it (to protect their own interests) but by the time i'll need to use warranty, i'll already have paid off a new unit.

I love my 630s as well. WAY more user friendly that the new Rogers PVR. That thing is a piece of garbage compared to the 630. does less, just has more capacity. People complain that the 630 only came with 320GB storage when it came out. Well the Rogers box only came out with 500GB when it came out 2 yrs later. Again, thankful i'm with Shaw vs Robbers.
d_source is offline  
post #1529 of 2573 (permalink) Old 2012-05-12, 02:24 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary/Mesa
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHans View Post
Mellaby, I couldn't agree more! We have multiple receivers, so we get charged anyway. But even if we didn't, after all the replacements we've had I think it would be foolish not to pay this charge. It's a shame that the 630s act up so much that you need the warranty, but it's my "deal with the devil" because I love the 630 despite its quirks.
Ya, I just can't watch TV without a PVR (even with it's quirks).
mellaby is offline  
post #1530 of 2573 (permalink) Old 2012-05-18, 07:39 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hastings,ON,Canada
Posts: 120
Recent pvr630 purchase -working good

I started with Shaw Direct(then Star Choice)back in 2002,went from the dsr401,to 2 dsr505s(only minor problems: had to swap out a corrupt 401[no signal]one time,1st 505-went through 3,1st wouldn't take new guide,then the 2nd had a problem,but the 3rd has been great for yrs!)and now a pvr630.

So far,after just over a week,no problems.

The only minor issue is that I've had to force 480i override in the 630's menu,as the video kept getting compressed horizontally on SD channels,and then bumping my Sony Bravia KDL46SL140 into 'widescreen full' mode,which forced 480i ota to go widescreen.

Other than that,I like it so far.
itpro007ca is offline  
Reply

Tags
failure , favourites , hard drive , hdpvr630 , reboot , shaw direct
Gear in this thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome