Split from History HD thread: KTLA-HD rumour - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 2009-11-18, 09:01 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,995
Split from History HD thread: KTLA-HD rumour

Rumor has it that KTLA HD and CNNHD are supposed to be the next two channels to appear. I've also heard rumors about CNBC and Fox News.
TJ77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 2009-11-18, 09:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 61
Well SD might not be doing so well with the firmware update that has been in the works for quite some time but they are doing quite well with picking up a lot of new channels here as of late
Daksport is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 2009-11-18, 10:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam BC
Posts: 764
It will be interesting to see if KTLA lands in the HD Extra Package or if we will automatically get it if we have KTLA Std Def. KTLA is only available by subscribing to one of the movie packages (I think?) so giving us the HD version of it shouldn't be a big deal.
ae_collector is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 2009-11-18, 11:27 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 3,780
CNN and KTLA should show up sometime within the next 3-4 weeks (No guarantee though).

Before CNBC and Fox News are offered in HD, I think CBC News Network HD should be added first.
bigoranget is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 2009-11-19, 10:40 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 79
"ae_collector said: It will be interesting to see if KTLA lands in the HD Extra Package or if we will automatically get it if we have KTLA Std Def. KTLA is only available by subscribing to one of the movie packages (I think?) so giving us the HD version of it shouldn't be a big deal."

I wouldn't bet on that. I subscribe to the movie pkg which gives me AMC - so I am paying a premium price for that service. But . . . . if I want AMC HD I have to pay another fee! Ridiculous. I'm already paying a premium and now they want an extra fee just to get it in HD?? One of the reasons I will never pay for HD extra. I don't want to watch the same program in HD that much. I think I can tough it out in poor old standard def.
Longmayirun is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 2009-11-19, 11:13 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,639
I think KTLA-HD will be packaged like WGN-HD. You'll have to buy the Superstations (not Superchannel) package for $3.95 or $4.95 depending on the CRS you get or 99cents per channel or free with TMN and/or Superchannel package. The HD Extra package doesn't have a premium channel like Family or Playboy so KTLA-HD will not be packaged in HD Extra.

~Gary
Rogers NextBox 2.0 w/ 500gb hd | HD VIP | former SD sub | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | watch me LIVE!
GaryE is online now  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 2009-11-19, 12:45 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam BC
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by Longmayirun View Post
"ae_collector said: It will be interesting to see if KTLA lands in the HD Extra Package or if we will automatically get it if we have KTLA Std Def. KTLA is only available by subscribing to one of the movie packages (I think?) so giving us the HD version of it shouldn't be a big deal."

I wouldn't bet on that. I subscribe to the movie pkg which gives me AMC - so I am paying a premium price for that service. But . . . . if I want AMC HD I have to pay another fee! Ridiculous. I'm already paying a premium and now they want an extra fee just to get it in HD?? One of the reasons I will never pay for HD extra. I don't want to watch the same program in HD that much. I think I can tough it out in poor old standard def.
Yes I forgot about the AMC example but then WGN HD is free so likely KTLA should be as well. They are quickly departing from the model where HD's were free if you subscribed to the SD version. I guess they have to make enough money to stay in business one way or another.
ae_collector is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 2009-11-19, 04:51 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by ae_collector
Yes I forgot about the AMC example but then WGN HD is free so likely KTLA should be as well. They are quickly departing from the model where HD's were free if you subscribed to the SD version. I guess they have to make enough money to stay in business one way or another.
Like i said in another thread , that part bugged me a lot . B4 having the HD recever , i was watching star choice and they were always saying that their HD channels were free , if you had the standard ones , in reality that's not the case . It is very frustrating to see that i have some standard channels that i'm already paying for and i can't have them in HD without paying again.

The sports package , i can understand and i dont mind to pay an extra for it , but the rest , it's a big no for me.

Another thing that i dont understand is why the HDNet is not free , I mean we paid for the HD recever , that would be only logic to give us that channel for free.
sports addict is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 2009-11-19, 05:39 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam BC
Posts: 764
What is HDNet? I have never subscribed to the HD Extra package so don't know what it is.
ae_collector is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 2009-11-19, 06:02 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 49
Free??? By that logic, all the channels should be free...

HDNet is a premium (ish) channel. They have to pay extra to carry it. I like the channel and would pay 4.99 a month for that channel alone. Shh, don't tell SD that....

Unlike A&E 'HD' and a couple other channels... HDNet is full time, real HD. None of the stretched to fit, standard def crapola. They have a variety of stuff on... from movies, to live concerts, to Dan Rather Reports... google and look at their website / programming.

I do agree though... if you're paying for the sd channels, you ought to get the hd. Hey, it's still a heck of a lot better than the other options out there, IMO.
newstarbob is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 2009-11-19, 06:25 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by newstarbob
Free??? By that logic, all the channels should be free...

HDNet is a premium (ish) channel. They have to pay extra to carry it. I like the channel and would pay 4.99 a month for that channel alone. Shh, don't tell SD that....

Unlike A&E 'HD' and a couple other channels... HDNet is full time, real HD. None of the stretched to fit, standard def crapola. They have a variety of stuff on... from movies, to live concerts, to Dan Rather Reports... google and look at their website / programming.

I do agree though... if you're paying for the sd channels, you ought to get the hd. Hey, it's still a heck of a lot better than the other options out there, IMO.
ok , if you dont like the word free , at least they should include HDNet in many packages ... just like Bell TV is doing . In their brochure ( Bell TV ) , if it's not false publicity , they have the HDNet in 5 HD packages vs Shaw where we can find it in only one . Like i said , i dont mind paying for sports HD, so add the HDNet in sports HD and i'll pay for it , no prob .
sports addict is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 2009-11-19, 07:01 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 44
I got this from ask jim

Hello,



Thank you for taking the time to email us. First and foremost, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and frustrations that we may have caused you. We will be adding a lot of new channels this year to our line-up. We are working out the contract details with the broadcasters right now. We will inform you as soon as we have a launch date. We have put through a channel request for KTLA HD and CNN HD on your behalf. We appreciate your patience in this matter.



Should you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us. Please include any previous correspondence with your replies.



Thank you for choosing Shaw Direct,



Angela G. – on behalf of Jim Cummins

Ask Jim

Shaw Direct - Shaw Communications Inc.

24/7 Customer Care - 1-888-554-7827
ABM 111 is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 2009-11-19, 07:25 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 49
Hold on though... how much extra is everyone paying per package on bell???
I personally hate the way bell packages are set up. Having the option is better than paying a higher price for an all inclusive package. You think bell is not charging for that channel??? Do a price comparison and think again...
newstarbob is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome