URC550 stopped working - how to reset? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 2009-05-16, 09:19 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
URC550 stopped working - how to reset?

While trying to get my URC550 remote to control a new audio receiver, I somehow managed to make it stop communicating with the DSR505 altogether.

It still controls my old audio receiver, but I never did get it to work with the Sony DAV-C450. Now I don't care about that - I just want to be able to control the satellite receiver.

Is there a way to reset the remote back to factory defaults?

Many thanks.
hbrydle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 2009-05-16, 11:42 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 105
You may have accidentally changed the remote address for your remote control.
You should be able to navigate to the remote address page using the controls on the front panel of your receiver.
Check to see what the current address is on screen and then change your remote to match.

http://www.starchoice.ca/images/supp...550_Manual.pdf

1. Press the [SAT] button to select the remote
control’s SAT mode.
2. Press the [Options] button to display the Options
screen on your TV.
3. On the Options screen, use the [▲], [▼], [◄], [►]
buttons to highlight the Change System Settings /
System Setup option, then press [Enter].
4. On the Systems Setting / Setup screen, use the
[▲], [▼], [◄], [►] buttons to highlight the Change
Installation Settings / System Settings (applies to
DSR 5xx, 207, 317 receivers) option, then press
[ENTER].
5. On the System Settings (applies to DSR 5xx, 207,
317 receivers) screen, use the [▲], [▼], [◄], [►]
buttons to highlight the Installation Settings option,
then press [ENTER]
6. On the Installation Settings screen, use the [▲],
[▼], [◄], [►] buttons to highlight the Remote
Control Address option, then press [ENTER]
7. Once you are on the Remote Control Address
screen, disregard the instructions on the
screen and follow these steps using the
remote control keypad….

a. In this order, press and hold the [MUTE] button,
then the [ENTER] button. Hold both buttons
down together until the mode buttons
illuminate in rotation (i.e. SAT ► TV ► DVD ►
AUDIO ► AUX ► SAT…). Release both
buttons as soon as the mode buttons
illuminate.
b. Enter any one of the following addresses:
[000], [001], [002], [003], [004], [005], [006],
[007]. Entry of the 3-digit of each address
stores the address automatically and causes
the mode buttons to blink and go out.
c. Press the [ENTER] button to set the same
address in your Satellite Receiver. The new
address will be displayed in the upper right
corner of your TV screen.
d. Exit from the Remote Control Address screen.
zak88lx is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 2009-05-21, 07:14 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Smile That worked! Thanks!

Now I'd still like to program the remote to work with the Sony DAV-450 AV receiver. None of the Sony codes work. Who can I call for help with this?
hbrydle is offline  
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 2009-05-22, 01:27 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Drayton Valley, Alberta
Posts: 353
about all you can do is try the search method to go through all possible codes. sony is usually made by sony but many manufacturers will farm out production to a sister company somewhere else where it's only got the brand name but nothing actually made by that company.
i've often run into equipment that only responds to some of the buttons on the remote too. for example the manual tells you to try power and see if the receiver turns off, however the power button might only turn the receiver on but can't turn it off. in a case like that you might have to try all codes manually without searching and try volume after entering each code instead of power.
lonnie is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 2009-05-22, 10:02 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,477
Quote:
Sony DAV-450 AV receiver
This is not a receiver, it's an HTiB. These are often not receptive to the typical programmable remote. You may need to get a Harmony remote if you still wish to have a single remote.

You may wish to check the URC website as they have specific codes available and they may have one for your system.

http://www.urcsupport.com/#

There is also the search method indicated by lonnie. Note his comments about the power button.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 2009-06-10, 01:14 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 10
If you call Shaw Direct they will probably try to assist you with programming to the TV, if they try all the codes they have with no success, they may refer you to Sony to get the correct code for your TV.
LikeOLikeH is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 2009-06-10, 06:07 PM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 605
Hold the enter button and mute button wait till the light flash on the top, and type in 0000, this will reset the remote so it can work with the satellite receiver.


noah
noah12 is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 2009-06-10, 06:11 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,477
noah12, he already did that based on the instructions in post2, see post 3. He's now trying to get the remote to work with his HTiB.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 2010-01-17, 08:31 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 34
WooHoo for search

Post 2 did the trick on my remote for the sat. Thanks
tony d is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 2010-01-18, 11:49 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Direct 505-530-630, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Panasonic Viera 50", HTPC-HDMI
Posts: 398
When I hold down the TV button on my remote for the 530, it does not display the programming sequence lights flashing. Is there another sequence to enable me to control my TV?
kcowan is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 2010-01-19, 09:15 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sunny Okanagan
Posts: 186
Press and hold "mute" and "enter" until the device buttons (TV, Sat, Aux...) start flashing, then let go. Hold "channel up" until TV turns off, then press "enter"
oksat is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 2010-01-19, 11:22 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam BC
Posts: 764
Some 505 and 530's came with URC545 remotes and others with URC550 remotes. The 545 has buttons to control 4 devices including the satellite receiver where as the 550 has buttons to control 5 devices.

The programming of these two remotes is quite different from each other. You can download PDF files from the Shaw Direct site but I haven't been able to find the complete manual for the URC545 so far, just an 8 page document that shows how to program it.
ae_collector is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 2010-01-19, 11:50 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sunny Okanagan
Posts: 186
True, I forgot about the URC545s. However, If holding TV didn't work for Kcowan, I suspect he has a URC550.
oksat is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 2010-01-25, 05:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Direct 505-530-630, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Panasonic Viera 50", HTPC-HDMI
Posts: 398
Yes it worked. Thanks. Instead of the TV turning off, the channel # changed. I had to do it several times before I figured out that the TV would not power off. So much for instructions. But it does work! It is a Panasonic Viera 50".

Thanks for the help!
kcowan is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 2010-01-29, 01:45 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sunny Okanagan
Posts: 186
Thumbs up

Good work! Just so you know, the code you are using is probably 046. It is the one that, on most Panasonics, will do the best job controlling the features, including changing video inputs.
oksat is offline  
Reply

Tags
remote , shaw

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome