BellTV Remote Control Discussions - Please read Post 1 - Page 21 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #301 of 551 (permalink) Old 2012-05-03, 09:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
2700 Remote Question

I have a problem with the remote on my bell 2700 and need to have it replaced. Sat key doesn't work, already took it apart to clean it)

I need to know if it is a IR or UHF remote.
It is a bit confusing because,
The Receiver has a UHF antenna on the back.
The remote I have has UHF written on the front below the key pad.
Although it says UHF when I put my finger over the front of it it will not work.
It will not work if I do not aim it directly at the receiver.

So is the remote I have a UHF or IR remote?
Does this receiver support both IR and UHF?
Which should I buy?

Thanks in advance
leichler1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 551 (permalink) Old 2012-05-03, 09:51 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Russell, Ontario
Posts: 307
http://support.bell.ca/_web/guides/T...mote_1(en).pdf

You've got a UHF remote, but probably in IR mode. Looks like the receiver will support either.
MaxHeadroom is offline  
post #303 of 551 (permalink) Old 2012-05-04, 05:45 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by leichler1 View Post
The Receiver has a UHF antenna on the back.
Can you go to MENU, 6, 1, 3 and verify the receiver Model because the 2700 NEVER had a UHF Remote Antenna.

There is a chance it is an old 4700, they looked the same and I have seen a 2700 front bezel on a 4700 chassis.

Have a look on E-Bay, you just need a Bell Blue Button Remote, it you indeed do have a 2700.

I saw some the other day on that site, 2 for $10 plus shipping.
Pinza is offline  
post #304 of 551 (permalink) Old 2012-05-04, 11:01 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
it says 2700C

Can this model do both?
leichler1 is offline  
post #305 of 551 (permalink) Old 2012-05-04, 06:25 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
No, it is IR only.
Pinza is offline  
post #306 of 551 (permalink) Old 2012-05-04, 07:58 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,088
Is it possible that the UHF antenna is hooked onto the connection for the off-air antenna?
JoeLouie is offline  
post #307 of 551 (permalink) Old 2012-05-04, 08:20 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Good point.
Pinza is offline  
post #308 of 551 (permalink) Old 2012-05-05, 08:19 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,643
u shouldn't even need a blue button remote, the original remote for a 2700 never had blue buttons. u can probably find a 2700 AND it's original remote for under 10 dollars on ebay. Not that u'd want it, just sayin

uhf/vhf combo rotor chimney mount FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split lg lcd dtt901 pctuner mythtv
majortom is online now  
post #309 of 551 (permalink) Old 2012-05-05, 08:28 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
At least a Blue Button Remote will be useful for controlling his TV and Amp if he has one and at $10 for 2, how can you go wrong.
Pinza is offline  
post #310 of 551 (permalink) Old 2012-05-05, 10:41 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wainfleet
Posts: 894
2700 doesn't have an OTA. It could be on the RF output however.
jdevlin is online now  
post #311 of 551 (permalink) Old 2012-05-05, 11:01 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
There are 3 'F' connectors on the rear of a 2700;

1 for Sat IN
1 for TV OUT

What is the 3rd for.?

EDIT:

It is marked Antenna/Cable IN.

It must be a pass-through for Cable TV, so when you turn the 2700 off, you can watch Cable or Antenna via the same Input.

So, it does NOT have a UHF Remote Antenna Port.
Pinza is offline  
post #312 of 551 (permalink) Old 2012-05-05, 12:50 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,088
Exactly the same as a 3100 and 4100 if I remember correctly.
JoeLouie is offline  
post #313 of 551 (permalink) Old 2012-05-22, 07:12 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 60
4100 Remote Issues - Light Staying On

We have an old 3500 where we bought a replacement remote back on Boxing day (4100 remote) and it has worked great up until last night. Last night for no reason the "TV" button at the top lit up and stayed lit and nothing works on the remote.

We changed the batteries and that did nothing.

This is not a button that is ever pressed ... was initially to set the code for the TV, but nothing since. Any ideas?

I called Bell to see if it represented something and they suggested turning the remote so that the buttons faced the ground and "lightly smash it" to see if that fixed it. Nice technical advice.

Thanks!
Sybok is offline  
post #314 of 551 (permalink) Old 2012-05-22, 09:21 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wainfleet
Posts: 894
It does sound like the TV button might be stuck. Perhaps pop it open and see if needs a cleaning.
jdevlin is online now  
post #315 of 551 (permalink) Old 2012-06-08, 03:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hawkesbury
Posts: 17
Anyone else having problems with remote or PVR signal

I came back to Bell TV f(rom Shaw Direct), because they offered me a real good package with 4 super channels and a free pvr....all for $67.00/month. However, when I started to use the remove and pvr (right after the installer left) I noticed that the remote control or the pvr had a mind of it's own, and would work when it felt like it. I called Bell, and they sent me a new remote with new batteries. It's better than the first remote, but at times, it still jams and becomes useless. Anyone else having this kind of problem with their remotes or pvr. I'm starting to wonder if it's not the pvr that should be replaced.
Dudester is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome