Any News On Any New Channels? - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 179 (permalink) Old 2005-04-27, 12:22 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
That would be great!

I have a feeling some channels would be a lot less - subscribed to. For example, I just added Family 1 to my package, but could care less about all but two channels on it. There may be some channels with little or no viewership.

Mind you... If there were channels no one wanted, BEV would find out really quick whether to replace these channels with something else?

It would certainly give you more freedom to pick.
mac dude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 179 (permalink) Old 2005-04-27, 12:27 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: London ON
Posts: 1,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac dude
Mind you... If there were channels no one wanted, BEV would find out really quick whether to replace these channels with something else?
exactly my point...bell wouldn't be wasting money and bandwidth on channels that weren't in "demand"...i guess the only downfall is, what if XYZ channel only has 5,000 people watching it, whereas FoxNews will have 100,000 viewers...do they anger the 5,000 people and remove their channel, simply to appease the 100,000?

i guess its a tough call.

maybe in the next year or so, Bell will put up a 500 transponder monster satellite that has enough capacity for 5000 HD channels.

Panasonic TP42PX60, Yamaha DTS receiver, Mission 73 series speakers, 100% sweetness!
dirtyjeffer is offline  
post #33 of 179 (permalink) Old 2005-04-27, 12:36 PM
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,896
In regards to the bandwidth issue, didn't that get resolved by moving Nimiq 3 beside Nimiq 1? Or is Nimiq 1 getting retired/sold to somebody else?

I'm just trying to get my head around the fact that Bell has 2.5 satellites up there, but still not enough bandwidth.
ken0042 is offline  
post #34 of 179 (permalink) Old 2005-04-27, 01:23 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken0042
In regards to the bandwidth issue, didn't that get resolved by moving Nimiq 3 beside Nimiq 1? Or is Nimiq 1 getting retired/sold to somebody else?

I'm just trying to get my head around the fact that Bell has 2.5 satellites up there, but still not enough bandwidth.
one works ok, the other at 3/4 capacity, and the third one is an old piece of junk that has about half the capacity of the other 2. they may be able to squeeze a few lone normal channels but beyond that no way you'll see something new until they send another big bird up there.
powerstream is offline  
post #35 of 179 (permalink) Old 2005-04-27, 01:24 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Durham Ont
Posts: 9
BEV has more like 1.85 Saetllites in servcie !

Nimiq 1 and 3 are co-located . It doesnt buy BEV any addional bandwidth at 91 ! What you get is redundancy and a buch of channels with improved fade margin !

Nimiq 2 operates at 85% of designed capacity after power troubles shorlty after it went in to service .

Ron .
irwinsfunforeveryone is offline  
post #36 of 179 (permalink) Old 2005-05-16, 03:28 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 25
Cool

Exactly how many new channels does bell have the capacity to add right now, with the equipment they have?

Any CVR's have an e-mail address that we can use to submit channel suggestions?

Just wondering.
ExpressingVu's is offline  
post #37 of 179 (permalink) Old 2005-05-16, 08:11 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 14
Any news on NEW Channels ?

Waiting here to get MSNBC on board - any news out there yet ? Steam

Toshiba 57HDX82
Yamaha RX-V2400 Rec.
Energy Encore Speakers
BEV 1 - 6100 + 2 - 3100 Rec's
steam is offline  
post #38 of 179 (permalink) Old 2005-05-18, 10:19 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 25
Does Bell ever do surveys or take polls of what people would like to see, or do they just look at what others are providing?

Who determines what gets put up?

Any CSR's know?



Just asking.

ExpressingVu's is offline  
post #39 of 179 (permalink) Old 2005-05-18, 11:35 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by steam
Waiting here to get MSNBC on board - any news out there yet ? Steam
No, nothing yet. I moved to rogers recently and i'm happy with my choice. I got fed up waiting for bell to add the channels i like watching. Rogers also gave me a really good offer.

ExpressingVu's: Obviously they try to be competitive with other service providers. Their main problem is they're limited by technology and they can't really add channels with the same ease as cable companies. You can try writing to them at bell's website asking for a specific channel to be added but they virtually never add channels that way. You'll just have to wait or take your business to a provider who carries the channels you're missing on BEV.
powerstream is offline  
post #40 of 179 (permalink) Old 2005-05-18, 11:53 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 87
I have Rogers at home and BEV at my cottage. To me BEV wil lawys be a cottage type of system where 1 or two TVs is used. At home I have 5 TVs and satellite will kill my bill !!!
electronics_tech is offline  
post #41 of 179 (permalink) Old 2005-05-18, 03:05 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 751
They removed the multiple receiver charge.

BTV 5900, 6100, 9200, 6141 & 9242 | Xbox 360 & PS3 | Samsung Galaxy S II
Falcon is offline  
post #42 of 179 (permalink) Old 2005-05-18, 03:14 PM
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falcon
They removed the multiple receiver charge.
I'm still being charged the multiple receiver charge.
Q is offline  
post #43 of 179 (permalink) Old 2005-05-18, 03:32 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 103
The multiple receiver charge is still applied to legacy packages I believe.

Nobody makes me bleed my own blood
dc1977 is offline  
post #44 of 179 (permalink) Old 2005-05-18, 03:55 PM
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,896
Even if you have a legacy package where you pay for multiple receivers; it's a flat $5 no matter if you have 2 receivers or if you have 6. It's the American systems that charge a MRF for each receiver.
ken0042 is offline  
post #45 of 179 (permalink) Old 2005-05-25, 03:52 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 25
It would be nice to get some more porn.

Or even a few channels... which are pornographic.

Just a thought.
ExpressingVu's is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome