picture quality - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 897 (permalink) Old 2009-02-13, 10:10 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
picture quality

i have the 6100 receiver and i was just wondering if the picture quality on the newer receivers are better or not.
wassaby is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 897 (permalink) Old 2009-02-13, 11:43 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: no man's land
Posts: 107
Lightbulb they're all the same.

happy friday, mates! don't rush buying the lastest receivers from bell now. BEV controls the bitrate at their data center. The only things you can do are hdmi & svideo.
Nimiq USA is offline  
post #3 of 897 (permalink) Old 2009-02-16, 07:25 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 133
Although I don't have a 6100, I just had my 6000 replaced with a 9241 due to the 6000 no longer being able to receive channels starting in April and the HD between the 6000 and 9241 is the same over component. With the exception of the brightness, I can't tell a difference in the quality but the picture from the 9241 is definitely darker. I'm not sure why that is. It's just as sharp but darker.
The SD performance between the 2 is an entirely difference story. The SD on the 9241 is horrible, it's very soft and depending on the channel/show actually blurry. I called Bell and complained about this but they said there is nothing that can be done, it's how the receiver is designed. I'm not sure if that's true but not much I can do. I would be curious to see if Bell's current entry level SD receiver produces the same quality of SD I am used to seeing from my 6000 or if all of the new receivers produce such an aweful SD image.
BrystonUser is offline  
 
post #4 of 897 (permalink) Old 2009-02-17, 12:21 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,985
@ BrystonUser: So BEV acknowledges there's an issue with their box?
Jase88 is offline  
post #5 of 897 (permalink) Old 2009-02-17, 01:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
I have just changed out 4 x 6000's for Bell supplied 6141's and the customer and I noticed no difference between picture quality or brightness. 2 TV's were connected with Component and 2 using HDMI.

I believe BrystonUser has a defective box.
Pinza is offline  
post #6 of 897 (permalink) Old 2009-02-17, 01:55 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 82
I just replaced a 6000 with a 6141 (before the announcement naturally), anyway, on my old fashioned RPTV, I don't notice much difference on the HD channels but the SD quality is much improved.
novatuc is offline  
post #7 of 897 (permalink) Old 2009-02-19, 01:26 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GTA
Posts: 79
I'm not sure if this is the right forum for a picture quality comparison but as a long time Rogers customer I've been intrigued by the push that Bell is making to "reclaim" customers for their bundles. They've been pretty aggressive on price and claims of superiority in TV offerings. I went to a Bell store to see their equipment. I have to admit that their HD PVR seems a lot better than my SA8300 in terms of program guide, channel locks, parental controls and the ability to customize the guide. Be that as it may, I couldn't help but notice that the HD picture quality didn't seem as good as Rogers.

The problem is that I'm watching on a 1080p Sharp Aquos at home (I realize everyone is broadcasting in 1080i and 720p) but the Bell stores are using Samsung HD TV's. I wasn't sure if the lower picture quality was due to their display TV's or compression.

Have any of you done side-by-side comparisons of Rogers HD vs Bell HD with the same program source? How is Bell's compression vs Rogers?

The Bell features and hardware seem so much better than Rogers but I'm uncertain on picture quality. Any thoughts?
catechumen is offline  
post #8 of 897 (permalink) Old 2009-02-19, 02:56 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
Picture quality on the 9200s and 9242s is excellent, especially the SD upscaling. Not sure why the 9241 would be any worse. The 6141 was reported to be very good, compared to the 6000, when it was released as well. The 6000 is noticeably softer than the 9200/9241 with HD and the 6000 has an abysmal SD upscaler in comparison. However, most of BTV's signals will look soft on a big screen due to their aggressive compression. Their is no way they will look as good as blu-ray, for example. They are typically closer to standard DVD but a few are better, with good HD material. SD will never look as good as a decent HD signal but a good scaler will keep it from looking worse than it needs to.
ScaryBob is offline  
post #9 of 897 (permalink) Old 2009-02-19, 08:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 19
Not exactly Rogers but I have Comcast here in Nashville. I have "Survivor" on at the moment and my local Cable is definitely the better of the two. Not a huge difference but noticeable on a side by side comparison if I switch between the two.

My receiver is a 9242
OnlineLC is offline  
post #10 of 897 (permalink) Old 2009-02-20, 10:40 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GTA
Posts: 79
That's interesting. Thanks for your responses. I agree with the "softer" look of BTV. I generally only watch HD channels anyway but the cable signal certainly looked sharper. I'm not a techie but perhaps with a bigger pipeline the cable signal isn't as compressed. The 9241 software looked significantly more advanced than the 80's style program guide on the SA8300.
catechumen is offline  
post #11 of 897 (permalink) Old 2009-02-20, 11:51 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,385
Please be aware of the following:

BTV sends all signals out as 720P. This tends to be a bit softer than 1080i.

FAQ - HDTV Formats Formats.

The BTV STB needs to be set up properly. It defaults to 480P (I've been to lots of homes where people watch 480P) Make sure you change it to 720P, as this is likely to provide you with the best picture. You can try 1080i if you like. I believe this is in the Setup Menu under HDTV.

FAQ - On Upconversion On Upconversion

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #12 of 897 (permalink) Old 2009-02-21, 02:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,113
If bell HD TV gets any softer they will melt. The SD picture from the free preview of 630 Movie time is better than the HD.
If it does not get better by April 1 it is not wort the discount to stick with them.
At one time Bell was better, not now. Rogers is way better HD, anyone that seen both lately can attest to that.
haystack is offline  
post #13 of 897 (permalink) Old 2009-02-21, 02:48 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 510
Quote:
If bell HD TV gets any softer they will melt. The SD picture from the free preview of 630 Movie time is better than the HD.
I really do not understand this at all. I have 4 HD TV's and this would not be true on any of them, even a little 19" TV. I will say that the picture quality on some of the networks is not up to standards, but most of the channels have very good quality (TSN, Discovery, Oasis, HDNet, etc.). The picture quality of channel 630 is very good for SD, but nowhere near the PQ of the HD channels.

Am I missing something here?
kandkt is offline  
post #14 of 897 (permalink) Old 2009-02-21, 03:10 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,113
I think the only thing missing is the comparison to Rogers. I'm getting Compression artifacts on more and more Bell HD Channels to the point that it will be hard to stay with Bell if its not fixed in April, even at a discount. When I first came to Expressvu there was no comparison it was way better than Rogers. This most HD war is killing them.
haystack is offline  
post #15 of 897 (permalink) Old 2009-02-21, 04:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 510
I guess that is what confuses me ... I don't experience this at all. Very strange. I am not doubting what you are saying, but I don't know why some experience it and some don't.
kandkt is offline  
Reply

Tags
bell , picture quality , satellite

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome