Omni Regional is Now Offering News in Mandarin, Cantonese, Punjabi and Italian

If you’re looking for news in another language with a Canadian slant, you’re in luck.

You may remember that Rogers’ Omni TV used to offer newscasts in Canada in other languages besides English and French, as a response to the growing diversity throughout the country. The Rogers-run TV broadcast sadly stopped offering its original reporting service back in May 2015 due to a lack of funds.

The good news is that they’re now back in the game. Omni Regional is now providing viewers with newscasts in Mandarin, Cantonese, Punjabi and Italian, and the service is being offered on all digital basic cable packages across the country.

What can you see with Omni Regional? Content that applies to provincial and municipal news, current affairs, lifestyle, entertainment, healthcare and business programming in all four languages.

Thirty-minute current affairs talk shows are being produced locally in Calgary, Edmonton, Toronto, and Vancouver, with Focus Cantonese, Focus Mandarin and Focus Punjabi. The aim is to present engaging discussion on topics that are truly reflective of viewers’ respective regional and language communities.

“We know from our community partners and viewers that there is an increasing appetite for multilingual news and information programming,” said Manuel Fonseca, Director, OMNI, Lifestyle & Entertainment Production, Rogers Media.

“Our commitment through OMNI Regional is to deliver much-needed language newscasts to as many Canadian households as possible, and our mission is to grant every citizen access to quality multicultural and multilingual programming – no matter where they live.”

Here is a list of local broadcast times for each region:

EAST (broadcasting in ON, NB, NFLD, NS and PEI)

Monday to Friday **All times local
Noon – OMNI News: Italian Edition
7 p.m. – OMNI News: Punjabi Edition
7:30 p.m. – Focus Punjabi
8 p.m. – OMNI News: Cantonese Edition
8:30 p.m. – Focus Cantonese
9 p.m. – OMNI News: Mandarin Edition
9:30 p.m. – Focus Mandarin

Saturday
Noon – OMNI News: Italian Edition
6 p.m. – OMNI News: Punjabi Edition
10 p.m. – OMNI News: Cantonese Edition
10:30 p.m. – OMNI News: Mandarin Edition

Sunday
Noon – OMNI News: Italian Edition
6 p.m. – OMNI News: Punjabi Edition
8 p.m. – OMNI News: Cantonese Edition
8:30 p.m. – OMNI News: Mandarin Edition

PACIFIC (includes BC)

Monday to Friday **All times local
Noon – OMNI News: Italian Edition
7 p.m. – OMNI News: Punjabi Edition
7:30 p.m. – Focus Punjabi
8 p.m. – OMNI News: Cantonese Edition
8:30 p.m. – Focus Cantonese
9 p.m. – OMNI News: Mandarin Edition
9:30 p.m. – Focus Mandarin

Saturday
Noon – OMNI News: Italian Edition
6 p.m. – OMNI News: Punjabi Edition
10 p.m. – OMNI News: Cantonese Edition
10:30 p.m. – OMNI News: Mandarin Edition

Sunday
Noon – OMNI News: Italian Edition
6 p.m. – OMNI News: Punjabi Edition
8 p.m. – OMNI News: Cantonese Edition
8:30 p.m. – OMNI News: Mandarin Edition

PRAIRIES (includes AB, MB, and SK)

Monday to Friday **All times local
Noon MT, 1 p.m. CT – OMNI News: Italian Edition
7 p.m. MT, 8 p.m. CT – OMNI News: Punjabi Edition
7:30 p.m. MT and CT – Focus Punjabi
8 p.m. MT, 9 p.m. CT – OMNI News: Cantonese Edition
8:30 p.m. MT, 9:30 p.m. CT – Focus Cantonese
9 p.m. MT, 10 p.m. CT – OMNI News: Mandarin Edition

Saturday
Noon MT, 1 p.m. CT – OMNI News: Italian Edition
6 p.m. MT, 7 p.m. CT – OMNI News: Punjabi Edition
7 p.m. MT, 8 p.m. CT – OMNI News: Cantonese Edition
7:30 p.m. MT, 8:30 p.m. CT – OMNI News: Mandarin Edition

Sunday
Noon MT, 1 p.m. CT – OMNI News: Italian Edition
6 p.m. MT, 7 p.m. CT – OMNI News: Punjabi Edition
8 p.m. MT, 9 p.m. CT – OMNI News: Cantonese Edition
8:30 p.m. MT, 9:30 p.m. CT – OMNI News: Mandarin Edition

QUEBEC

Monday to Sunday **All times local
10 p.m. – OMNI News: Italian Edition
10:30 p.m. – OMNI News: Mandarin Edition
11 p.m. – OMNI News: Cantonese Edition
11:30 p.m. – OMNI News: Punjabi Edition

For more information visit Omni TV online.

Comments are closed.